Baked Beans from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I followed this to a T. This was very sweet but bland. I don't think I will be saving this in my recipe box. Thanks, but no thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Thank you for everyone's suggestions. I added 1 1/2 tsp mustard powder and 2 tsp apple cider vinegar, 3 slices of bacon crumbled, and sauteed the onion in the pan that the bacon was cooked in for a more complex flavor. I cooked this in my 8 in dutch oven and it overflowed a bit so I have to clean the bottom of my oven (which is due anyways). These beans came out amazing. I will be serving them later on in the week with hamburgers and red potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Actually not as cloyingly sweet as I feared...only thing I would change would be to add vinegar, or more ketchup. Needs a bit of tang; otherwise, great bean recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
added bacon bits..cooked 3 hrs on high and 10 hrs low
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoakay
Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Awesome beans! I made them exactly by the recipe, only I doubled everything and cooked them in the crock-pot. Absolutely delicious! My toddler couldn't get enough! A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Added bell pepper, a couple shakes of hot sauce, and 1/4th cup brown sugar. Omitted Ketchup added 1 small can tomato paste and 2 tbs mustard. I feel sorry for my neighbors having to smell it all day. Cooked in crockpot low for 3 hours and high for 7 hours. Results were raved about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loomis, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I didnt use the onion and was out of worcestershire sauce. These were really good! My beans seemed a little dry, wonder why? I ll give 5 stars since I dont think the dryness was from the recipe but some thing this chef must have done wrong. Yummy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy1979

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This was my third and final attempt at baked beans that weren't horrible - and they were exactly the opposite! This is a keeper for sure. I also added 1 finely diced green pepper, 1 tsp. vinegar, 1/2 tsp. dry mustard and a dash of poultry seasoning. I added a little less water after hearing it was too soupy, but mine actually turned out a little dry, so I would stick to the recipe. Although many people said they were too sweet, I found the opposite and added some brown sugar mid-way through cooking - perhaps because my molasses were unsweetened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicholai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
A bit on the sweet side but very delicious anyhow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
We really liked these, nice flavor. Beats the can, thats for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States