Baked Beans from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Thank you for everyone's suggestions. I added 1 1/2 tsp mustard powder and 2 tsp apple cider vinegar, 3 slices of bacon crumbled, and sauteed the onion in the pan that the bacon was cooked in for a more complex flavor. I cooked this in my 8 in dutch oven and it overflowed a bit so I have to clean the bottom of my oven (which is due anyways). These beans came out amazing. I will be serving them later on in the week with hamburgers and red potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Actually not as cloyingly sweet as I feared...only thing I would change would be to add vinegar, or more ketchup. Needs a bit of tang; otherwise, great bean recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
added bacon bits..cooked 3 hrs on high and 10 hrs low
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoakay
Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Awesome beans! I made them exactly by the recipe, only I doubled everything and cooked them in the crock-pot. Absolutely delicious! My toddler couldn't get enough! A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Added bell pepper, a couple shakes of hot sauce, and 1/4th cup brown sugar. Omitted Ketchup added 1 small can tomato paste and 2 tbs mustard. I feel sorry for my neighbors having to smell it all day. Cooked in crockpot low for 3 hours and high for 7 hours. Results were raved about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loomis, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I didnt use the onion and was out of worcestershire sauce. These were really good! My beans seemed a little dry, wonder why? I ll give 5 stars since I dont think the dryness was from the recipe but some thing this chef must have done wrong. Yummy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy1979

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This was my third and final attempt at baked beans that weren't horrible - and they were exactly the opposite! This is a keeper for sure. I also added 1 finely diced green pepper, 1 tsp. vinegar, 1/2 tsp. dry mustard and a dash of poultry seasoning. I added a little less water after hearing it was too soupy, but mine actually turned out a little dry, so I would stick to the recipe. Although many people said they were too sweet, I found the opposite and added some brown sugar mid-way through cooking - perhaps because my molasses were unsweetened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicholai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
A bit on the sweet side but very delicious anyhow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
We really liked these, nice flavor. Beats the can, thats for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
My husband liked these and ate them, but my kids wouldn't eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States