Baked Beans from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Actually not as cloyingly sweet as I feared...only thing I would change would be to add vinegar, or more ketchup. Needs a bit of tang; otherwise, great bean recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
added bacon bits..cooked 3 hrs on high and 10 hrs low
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoakay
Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Awesome beans! I made them exactly by the recipe, only I doubled everything and cooked them in the crock-pot. Absolutely delicious! My toddler couldn't get enough! A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Added bell pepper, a couple shakes of hot sauce, and 1/4th cup brown sugar. Omitted Ketchup added 1 small can tomato paste and 2 tbs mustard. I feel sorry for my neighbors having to smell it all day. Cooked in crockpot low for 3 hours and high for 7 hours. Results were raved about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loomis, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I didnt use the onion and was out of worcestershire sauce. These were really good! My beans seemed a little dry, wonder why? I ll give 5 stars since I dont think the dryness was from the recipe but some thing this chef must have done wrong. Yummy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy1979

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This was my third and final attempt at baked beans that weren't horrible - and they were exactly the opposite! This is a keeper for sure. I also added 1 finely diced green pepper, 1 tsp. vinegar, 1/2 tsp. dry mustard and a dash of poultry seasoning. I added a little less water after hearing it was too soupy, but mine actually turned out a little dry, so I would stick to the recipe. Although many people said they were too sweet, I found the opposite and added some brown sugar mid-way through cooking - perhaps because my molasses were unsweetened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicholai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
A bit on the sweet side but very delicious anyhow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
We really liked these, nice flavor. Beats the can, thats for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
My husband liked these and ate them, but my kids wouldn't eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I give this recipe a two as kind of an average. Please note, I followed the recipe to the letter. People at the party left their beans on their plates. Here's how I came to the two average. The flavor is terrible. Too sweet, no kick and no dimension. The cheapest canned beans have more complex flavor. For technique, I would give this recipe five stars. This has got to be the way to cook beans for perfect texture. The problem here is in the ingredients. It should have been a red flag when there was no vinegar, no mustard, no roasted peppers, etc. The Worcestershire sauce and chili powder are no match for the syrup, molasses and brown sugar. I'll use this recipe as a guide to come up with beans that please a Midwestern crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by h0t5auce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States