Baked Beans from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This was a great base recipe for baked beans, but I like my food with a kick. I didn't use any molasses (didn't have any) and I added vinegar and mustard like suggested, but I also spiced it up with chipotles in adobo sauce, and everyone at my BBQ gave it rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cerelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I may use this as a base and give one more try. It was rather watery for me. I followed directions exactly. I was looking for the old fashion, more starchy consistency. It has a very mild flavor, so would try adding pieces of bacon to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Made exactly as written, beans were a little dry & lacked flavor. Hoped they would have been sticky with lots of texture and stick to the spoon like Mom use to make, these were not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsford, New York, USA
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
DO NOT DO THIS: I followed directions from another reviewer and put all ingredients in crock pot overnight after letting beans sit in water for 8 hours. The beans were not nearly done 12 hours later! One must pour off the 4 cups of water and use only enough to cover beans as per original recipe! To remedy, i put beans in beanpot and cooked in oven at 350F until it began to thicken. Now it's ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I soaked them over night. Boiled for an hour and then put it in the slow cooker for 6 hours. The BEST baked beans recipe!!!! I'll be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I doubled the recipe (1 # beans) and used a crock pot. Used pinto beans instead of the navy (had on hand), subbed A-1 and soy sauce for the Worcestershire (didn't have any), doubled the brown sugar, added 1 tsp dry mustard and 1# bacon. I only used 5 cups of water instead of the 8 it called for and it was still too soupy, even after 10 hrs on high and several hrs on low. I'm thinking the pinto beans swell and soak up much less than the navy beans. We still liked this recipe, just used a slotted spoon. I will try this recipe again with the great northern beans I have. Hopefully they will soak up the juice more. I'll also fry the bacon a little before adding to the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
These beans were really good, instead of salt I put in a nice piece of salt pork. It's a staple for a lot of recipes in my area :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRASH5456

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiarton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This was good, but it did not need to cook for 6 hours. It was really dry. I liked the flavors though. But, definitely not the best baked beans I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I had never made baked beans any way other than open a can of pork and beans and add some brown sugar and maple syrup. These are really good, though I would add more brown sugar next time just because I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I followed this to a T. This was very sweet but bland. I don't think I will be saving this in my recipe box. Thanks, but no thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States