Baked Beans from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I LOVED this recipe and so did everybody else! I made this for thanksgiving and it was a huge hit! I'm not one for those spicy bean mixes, I'm definitely a sweet person, so this was perfect! I would useless water next time, I also cooked it in a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
After reading alot of the reviews I decided to try this recipe and I'm so happy I did. My family loved the beans. I followed the recipe to the letter for the most part only adding green bell pepper and minced onions to my recipe and cooking them in the crock pot in the final step (that way I could go to sleep). I'll use this recipe again and again for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
These were really good - the sauce was thick and caramelized. I used all the cooking liquid from the beans adding it throughout the baking time. I followed the recipe exactly as written, but doubled it. That being said I won't be making this recipe again. The length of the cooking time combined with constantly having to monitor the beans when baking so they wouldn't dry out wasn't worth the taste payoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D-O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This recipe worked perfectly. The only things I did differently were partially cooking the chopped bacon beforehand so I could reduce the fat, and I just mixed everything together vs. layering. I was afraid the dish would be too sweet, but it wasn't. Good & easy, as long as you plan ahead. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I made Coney dogs and these beans for a side dish tonight! My family loved them! I don't like beans of any kind so I did not try them (sorry) but everyone said they were great. I added bacon to them and doubled the sauce, to the sauce I added vinegar and mustard. Thank you for the recipe my family has really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Was making this for a large BBQ, so I had to triple the amounts. The sauce was great, but couldn't help adding 2 tbs. dry mustard, 1/4 cup vinegar & 1/2 tsp. liquid smoke for that bbq flavor, delishous! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This is the first time I made baked beans from scratch. I usually open a can of Grandma Brown's baked beans and add brown sugar then bake. These were so good and easy to make. I'll definitely make them again. I did add a cup of baked ham that I had in the freezer, but that was the only thing I did different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
WAY too sweet!! I will omit the brown sugar or maple syrup next time. Maybe add a little bacon for depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Glorgana
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Very tasty, and with the right soy sauce and Worcestershire sauce, it's gluten free and vegan! It doesn't make a lot, so I opt for a double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Very good, wouldn't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States