Baked Beans, Texas Ranger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Can't say these beans suited our taste perfectly, but they came pretty darn close! They really are delicious and my husband went on and on about them. I atually sauted my onions and peppers and ground pork all together and added the other ingredients to the pot before baking. I didn't drain my beans and I had no problem with too much liquid. I am looking forward to cooking these in a crock pot this weekend for a BBQ at my home. I am sure everyone will love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
AWESOME! AWESOME! GREAT FLAVOR!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
This was SO good! I followed advice by draining the beans, using less vinegar, and putting it in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Cervantes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
This was awesome. A great recipe to take to a bbq.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
Loved these! I only used half an onion and still thought that was too much onion, so next time I will use a little less. I accidentally left out the brown sugar and didn't miss it - maybe next time I will add it and see. These beans are very different from "plain" baked beans and just what I was looking for. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Dee-licious! As a fellow Texan, I give this a big two thumbs up. My kids and husband loved it too. I did make a few changes. I sauteed the onions and garlic first. I omitted the bell pepper and ketchup (personal preference). I added a can of kidney beans, drained, to have enough to feed my family of 5. I added a little less chili pepper than called for, for the kids' sake, and left out the optional cayenne. I also threw in a little extra salisbury steak we had left over. I resisted the urge to throw in some liquid smoke and I'm glad I did because the beans didn't need it at all. I mixed it all up and warmed it in the crock pot for a couple hours instead of in the oven. This will go into our regular rotation for sure. The perfect way to use up leftover sausage, hot dogs or hamburger meat. Thanks for such a yummy and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB2323

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
These turned out great! I thought the chili poweder added a great kick to sweet beans. I used the molasses and pork kind because I figured they would work best with the recipe. We didn't even taste the vinegar in them at all, perhaps it's the kind of vinegar other reviewers used, we used white vinegar. If you are planning on serving them to kids however I might cut the chili powder a bit, as my kids said they were too spicy. Thanks for sharing this quick easy recipe for doctoring up canned beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cardinal, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Personally I don't really care for beans, but everyone raves about this recipe. My husband and son love it, and everyone always asks for the recipe. Thanks, Daphne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
This recipe is almost perfect! I use a pound of hot pork sausage no skins, comes like a jimmy dean sausage for a stuffing. I use Campbells beans I drain. I use three 11oz.cans. This is always a hit, I get people asking me to make this and it is always gone. Thank you for the recipe. We do not have all the things on Long Island. God this is so great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
These were very tasty. I substituted sausage for bacon and oh my was it nice! I didn't add the sugar because I thought it might be a bit too sweet, and they turned out rather spicy! Perhaps less chili powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States