Baked Beans, Texas Ranger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I've made these beans numerous times this summer for cookouts and always get rave reviews. The only modification I make is to leave the sausage out and add 1 can of Great Northern beans, then put it all in the crock pot on high for 4 hrs. Leftover beans are great warmed up the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I dont eat baked beans but my fiance loves them. He always talked about a friends mother making the best baked beans ever, and after tasting these said these were even better than hers!!! Ive been making them this way ever since. I used bacon instead of sausage but as for everything else, i use exactly as written above:] From all the compliments I get, this is an AWESOME recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I always drain the pork and beans when making baked beans, so this was not soupy for me at all. I didn't have the sausage but my family loves this recipe. I am use to ketchup/mustard/brown sugar baked beans so this was a new refreshing way to eat them. I will be making these again and again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSBHAVENOKIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Harcourt, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This recipe tastes delicious, but it should be called "Texas Ranger Baked Bean Soup." That's why I only gave it 4 stars. I used a slotted spoon to remove the beans and just a small amount of juice from the soup. If I make it again I will drain the beans. Also, it was a little too spicy hot for my taste, though my husband likes it that way. I used cajun sausage, which I won't do next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
These were a huge hit at my housewarming bbq. I double the recipe and used half the amount of brown sugar, and everyone really liked that they weren't too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Brought this to a birthday party and several people commented on how good this was. Thanks for making me look like I can cook. I only made two changes. I added less chili powder and added a mild chili pepper chopped. I also used my own beans. Will use this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was a HUGE hit in my house. I cannot make enough it goes so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hyde Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I did not care for this at all. The vinegar taste was too strong for me. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Sweet but w/ a Spicy Kick. These were awesome and not your everyday Baked Beans!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This is one of my favorites, and is a hit every time I make it. I like to use beans that have brown sugar, onions, etc already it them. I also leave a little more of the juice from the beans out and add a little bit of BBQ sauce. I have also made huge batches with 3 28 ounce cans of beans and 2 lbs of sausage. Get the extra hot sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKAHTUL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States