Baked Beans, Texas Ranger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Just wonderful! A great blend of flavors with a nice texture....very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
While visiting my brother in Texas he made these beans, and I was hooked! When I made them at home I replaced the pork sausage with turkey instead. "GREAT" baked beans!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
We made this recipe for a BBQ we had for friends. They could not stop raving about this recipe! It is delicious. I followed it exactly as the recipe said and it turned out great! Thanks for a wonderful recipe, this is a keeper! Also, it tastes great heated up for left overs afterwards!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I tried this for a 4th of July cook out in our new home. Although it was just my husband and I, he told me to be sure that I logged in and rated this recipe. He thought the beans were "wonderful." I did make a couple of alterations: 1/2 lb of ground sausage (hot), 1/2 lb of ground chuck, and dry mustard powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mssasz

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Very good. I tripled the recipe and used: 2 onion, 2 red bell pepper, 2/3 of the sugar and vinegar. I drained 2 of the 3 cans. I cooked as directed and the onions and peppers still tasted raw/crunchy...so simmered on stovetop for an hour or so until time to eat and they were perfect. I am glad I modified it as i did - because if I had used all of the sugar and vinegar and even the onion and bellpepper - it would have been too much. I also used regular breakfast sausage and the spice was perfect (due to just the chilipowder - no cayenne) - also - they were even yummier the next day. I got several compliments - even from my Father in Law! that's always a plus ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Wow oh wow... These had some serious kick to them. I used some spicy sausage that were indeed spicy. I used Bush's vegetarian beans. I loved these beans at first bite, but as I continued to eat them I was overwhelmed by spice. Good beans.... I think I will choose a different sausage and see if it turns out differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
These were excellent! I made them for the 4th and they got rave reviews. I doubled the recipe, used plain pork 'n beans and hot breakfast sausage. So easy to make, this will definitely be my go-to recipe for baked beans! Thanks Daphne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANNYHO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Turrell, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
5/20/10 - UPDATE. I made this dish for the 4th BBQ and people RAVE about these beans. I tend to not use the bell peppers though...This is a super easy and super inexpensive dish to make. I doubled the recipe and followed as is minus the green peppers. I thought that overall it was really good but maybe a little too tangy??!!? I used the right amount of Worchester and Vinegar so I'm not sure what I did wrong. But it still got a TON of compliments on it and it went pretty fast. No one else seemed to mention the tanginess of it so perhaps I didn't measure quite exact? Dunno. Bottom line I will try it again be/ca overall the taste was awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACYRE
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Just made this today for the 4th of July and had to quadruple the recipe for the party. Used 1 lb regular sausage crumbled and it tastes MARVELOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This was really good. I was looking for something spicy that had some sort of meat in it as well. I used hot ground pork sausage and it turned out really good. My oldest son and his girlfriend were the taste testers and they both loved the flavor. Personally, when I make these for the 4th of July I will make them with a little more heat, maybe add some jalapenos!!!! Give this one a try. You won't be dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Lana
Home Town: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States