Baked Beans, Texas Ranger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I made this recipe today for the first time and it was a huge hit. I used 3 cans of Bush Country Style beans drained and 3 T. apple cider vinegar, 3 T. chili powder, 7 T. Worcestershire sauce, 9 pork sausage links, 3 t. garlic, one large onion, 1 c. brown sugar and 1 c ketchup. I didn't use any bell pepper, salt or cayenne pepper. I will make this dish again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
hi folks...just wanted to let you know that i use a large can of pork and beans plain without extra added seasonings....drain some of the liquid off so they're not too watery...enjoy this recipe...everyone i know does!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
I have made baked beans my whole life and this is by far the BEST recipe and very easy to make. I used Bush's maple baked beans and this was a huge hit at my reunion potluck. Be sure to try this one!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This recipe has been a fail-safe one for baked beans with a little kick at all my BBQs! I put it in the crockpot on low for 4 hours instead of baking it in the oven, but the end result is always a fiery good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChAnMad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jenks, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Moore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
I made this recipe just yesterday for a cookout for 30 people. I was bombarded with requests for the recipe! These are, by far, the best baked beans I've ever had in my life, bar none. Absolutely dynamite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
this recipe is almost the recipe that i make..i use a bigger can of beans just the plain kind and drain them..i only use about a tablespoon of vinegar and a tablespoon of worcestershire and 2 teaspoons of chili powder and don't use garlic powder at all. i uncover the last 30 minutes and it thickens the beans...hope this is helpful..daphne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAPHNEESPARZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
I loved this bean recipe and so did the people I served it to. This is a keeper. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
I thought this was just ok. For my tastes, it was too sweet - but the rest of my family liked it. They'd give the recipe a 4-star rating. If I were to change anything, I'd use more beans and less brown sugar and maybe a little more worcestershire sauce. The onion, bell pepper and sausage were a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
Wonderful recipe, even the kids loved this dish. I'd add another can of beans next time I make it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
Very good, similar to the baked beans my mother use to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States