Baked Beans, Texas Ranger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Personally, I'd give this recipe 2 stars at most. I find it too sweet and salty. However, we've served it to guests twice and some of them seemed to like it. I just find it overwhelming as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semichee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I didn't have any sausage, so I browned 4 slices of bacon, and sauteed the onions in the grease. I omitted the green pepper, but otherwise, I followed the recipe to the letter. I can't decide whether there is too much ketchup or too much Worcestershire sauce, but I will play with this recipe a bit until I get it exactly to my personal tastes. Overall, a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This is one of my most frequently used recipes from this site!! My copy is used so often, it's spattered with Texas Ranger Bean delicousness! Standard recipe works great, though I use only 3Tbl apple cider vinegar. Great when done on the stovetop, too! I've used all types of sausage, but spicy has been most popular with my bunch. Great recipe, Daphne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I know this has been on the site for a while however, I today just tired it and I have to let you know... "OFF THE HOOK" the only change I made was I use 1lb ground pork sausage(hot Jimmy Deans)... great stuff! TY for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise W

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Fox Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
It was good, but I wasn't blown away by this. Don't know that I'll go out of my way to make it again, but I am glad I tried it. I agree that it needed more beans. Maybe thrown an extra can of drained pintos in on top of the can of baked beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki-b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I made these beans for the first time to take to a potluck, so took some the of the negative reviews into consideration and proceeded cautiously. Some said it turns out too soupy: I used 2 28 oz. cans pork & beans and drained some of the liquid from the cans. Still turned out on the soupy side. Will drain completely next time. Too spicy: Used same amounts of spices as recipe calls for when using only one can of beans. Too vinegary: Used 2 Tbs vinegar instead of 4. Used apple cider vinegar. I used VanKamp Pork & Beans. With the added can of beans, the only other increases I made in the recipe were, to use a LARGE onion (sweet), a LARGE bell pepper, and added an extra 1/4 brown sugar and 1 additional sausage. I sauteed the onion, bell pepper and sausage before mixing everything together, and cooked on high in a crock pot for 3 hours. Everyone loved the beans. As a side dish it served 8 with a little left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Fantastic! I mixed these up (without the sausage )then placed some pork chops in the bottom of the slow cooker. Used 1 Tbsp chili powder & 1 Tbsp Chipotle powder. Poured the beans over the chops & cooked on low all day. Truly Pork & Beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REECES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garner, Iowa, USA
Living In: Pella, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
First time I made these I used the baked beans... we found them to be too sweet and soupy... second time I made them, I used pinto beans, ground spicy sausage and more onions... YUM! much better my way ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Will make again soon! Super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Certainly has a kick but not fussed on the amount of Worchestershire sauce or chili powder, will adjust those amounts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States