Baked Beans, Texas Ranger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
These were the best baked beans I have ever had. They were hot and spicey. I added cyanne pepper, onion powder (since my guests were not onion fans), and I used hot sausage. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Very good recipe. I had bacon on hand so I used that instead of sausage. I also softened the bell pepper and onion in a little of the bacon drippings before adding the rest. The family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio Hondo, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Very Very Very GOOD! My pickcy son LOVES them. If yours are a little "soupy" just take the lid off the pot the last 15 minutes or so of baking time! i also used, precooked bacon instead of the sausage. Thanks for the Excellant Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS. FISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gillett, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I brought these to an elderly picnic and thus left out the cayenne and used regular sausage links. I received a few compliments. My husband enjoyed the sweetness of them. I thought they were too sweet, but I used brown sugar Splenda (less than called for) & Splenda may be sweeter than the real thing. I used more chili powder and vinegar than called for to cut back on the sweetness and did not find them very spicy at all. Also used 3 times as many sausage links to evenly distribute. Fried up the onion, green pepper and used fresh garlic and you can never get enough of that in beans. All in all a very hearty baked bean recipe with a sweet and sour type flavor. I will make again...with less sugar and with the spiciness and expect they will be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
A lot of work, but well worth it. I can't go anywhere without taking this recipe any more....always requested!. I cook my onion, pepper and sausage, then add other ingredients and let simmer on stove top instead of putting in oven. GREAT left over too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I absolutely love this recipe, though people with a more sensitive palate may find it a bit too potent. It certainly has a kick to it! To make it a bit more healthy, I use a can of baked beans without pork, and use less sausage. I also try to sneak in a bit more cayenne when my wife's not looking. Excellent for clearing sinuses and waking up sleepy dinner guests. I hear Chuck Norris ate this when he was a baby. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This recipe was fantastic. Not the traditional baked bean, but no one was disappointed, they were gone in a flash. I loved the kick these beans had but I will lessen the chili powder just a tad next time, a little overpowering I am thinking 1 1/2 instead of 2 TBLS. I also used about a half lb. of ground pork (regular flavored)sausage instead of the links so it would be more evenly distributed and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lady_of_lamour

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carl Junction, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
I made this for a Memorial Day cook-out. As advised by others, I drained the beans, used 1t of vinegar, 2t chili powder and 1T Worcestershire. Everyone loved it and have requested it for the Labor Day cook-out! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
my husband loved this and he is a Texan. i thought it was very good. I would rate it five if any of the heat in the dish was at the tip of the tongue rather than all at the end of the bite. I did add a pinch of the reccommended cayenne pepper and also 5 dashes of tobasco. Would more of these help accomplish an initial spiciness? I also wonder if it could achieve the tangy flavor without quite so many calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I have made theses over and over, they are the hit of any dinner. I read the reviews first (as always) and I did cut back on the vinegar. Every cook out party I am asked to bring the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States