Baked Beans, Texas Ranger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I made this in June 2008 at my Husband's outdoor Retirement from the Navy BBQ party. It was the hit of the party, well, food-wise. Everyone kept telling me how great this was. The only thing I changed was I bought Bush's Maple beans, instead of the Pork beans, I don't like pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
These are the best beans EVER!!! I make them year round--for BBQs, games, potlucks, etc. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I made these to go with boneless pork ribs and they were awesome! Just the right amount of "kick"! My family loved them. This recipe will go in my favorites book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I am giving this 5 stars because these beans are awsome indeed. However, let me tell you my bean story. My dad has been making "his famous beans" since I can remember and they are some kind of version of these except he eyeballs all the ingredients. The 3 ingredient that are going to make or break the recipe are the vinegar, brn sugar and ketchup which is why i looked up the recipe. When you eyeball every time they tend to always be slightly off so I wanted exact amounts. I am an all recipes junky and I wanted a guideline because I always get bombarded with raves about my beans. when to me they have "tasted better". So heres the thing, everyone has different tastes. Try making these beans with a whole slab of regular bacon instead of the sausage. Let it brown until it is as crispy as it gets until it burns. add in your onion and peppers and continue to saute for 10 min or so until they are nicely browned. Dont worry, the liquid from the veggies will keep the bacon from getting browner, trust me, the bacon somehow stops cooking. If you dont let the bacon get very well done first you will end up with soggy bacon. anyways, then add your beans and try starting out with 2 tbsp vinegar, 1/4 C brn sugar, 1/4 C ketchup. If it isnt quite right for you at that time, try adding equal amounts until it is to your desired flavor. This recipe is way too sweet for me, and I love putting sugar in almost all my sauces. I could tell when i made it that is was way more than i had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHANIE10857

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I've made these beans numerous times this summer for cookouts and always get rave reviews. The only modification I make is to leave the sausage out and add 1 can of Great Northern beans, then put it all in the crock pot on high for 4 hrs. Leftover beans are great warmed up the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I dont eat baked beans but my fiance loves them. He always talked about a friends mother making the best baked beans ever, and after tasting these said these were even better than hers!!! Ive been making them this way ever since. I used bacon instead of sausage but as for everything else, i use exactly as written above:] From all the compliments I get, this is an AWESOME recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I always drain the pork and beans when making baked beans, so this was not soupy for me at all. I didn't have the sausage but my family loves this recipe. I am use to ketchup/mustard/brown sugar baked beans so this was a new refreshing way to eat them. I will be making these again and again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSBHAVENOKIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Harcourt, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This recipe tastes delicious, but it should be called "Texas Ranger Baked Bean Soup." That's why I only gave it 4 stars. I used a slotted spoon to remove the beans and just a small amount of juice from the soup. If I make it again I will drain the beans. Also, it was a little too spicy hot for my taste, though my husband likes it that way. I used cajun sausage, which I won't do next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
These were a huge hit at my housewarming bbq. I double the recipe and used half the amount of brown sugar, and everyone really liked that they weren't too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Brought this to a birthday party and several people commented on how good this was. Thanks for making me look like I can cook. I only made two changes. I added less chili powder and added a mild chili pepper chopped. I also used my own beans. Will use this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States