Baked Beans, Texas Ranger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I've made these beans numerous times this summer for cookouts and always get rave reviews. The only modification I make is to leave the sausage out and add 1 can of Great Northern beans, then put it all in the crock pot on high for 4 hrs. Leftover beans are great warmed up the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I dont eat baked beans but my fiance loves them. He always talked about a friends mother making the best baked beans ever, and after tasting these said these were even better than hers!!! Ive been making them this way ever since. I used bacon instead of sausage but as for everything else, i use exactly as written above:] From all the compliments I get, this is an AWESOME recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I always drain the pork and beans when making baked beans, so this was not soupy for me at all. I didn't have the sausage but my family loves this recipe. I am use to ketchup/mustard/brown sugar baked beans so this was a new refreshing way to eat them. I will be making these again and again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSBHAVENOKIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Harcourt, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This recipe tastes delicious, but it should be called "Texas Ranger Baked Bean Soup." That's why I only gave it 4 stars. I used a slotted spoon to remove the beans and just a small amount of juice from the soup. If I make it again I will drain the beans. Also, it was a little too spicy hot for my taste, though my husband likes it that way. I used cajun sausage, which I won't do next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
These were a huge hit at my housewarming bbq. I double the recipe and used half the amount of brown sugar, and everyone really liked that they weren't too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Brought this to a birthday party and several people commented on how good this was. Thanks for making me look like I can cook. I only made two changes. I added less chili powder and added a mild chili pepper chopped. I also used my own beans. Will use this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was a HUGE hit in my house. I cannot make enough it goes so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hyde Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I did not care for this at all. The vinegar taste was too strong for me. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Sweet but w/ a Spicy Kick. These were awesome and not your everyday Baked Beans!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This is one of my favorites, and is a hit every time I make it. I like to use beans that have brown sugar, onions, etc already it them. I also leave a little more of the juice from the beans out and add a little bit of BBQ sauce. I have also made huge batches with 3 28 ounce cans of beans and 2 lbs of sausage. Get the extra hot sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKAHTUL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States