Baked Beans, Texas Ranger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Wow oh wow... These had some serious kick to them. I used some spicy sausage that were indeed spicy. I used Bush's vegetarian beans. I loved these beans at first bite, but as I continued to eat them I was overwhelmed by spice. Good beans.... I think I will choose a different sausage and see if it turns out differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
These were excellent! I made them for the 4th and they got rave reviews. I doubled the recipe, used plain pork 'n beans and hot breakfast sausage. So easy to make, this will definitely be my go-to recipe for baked beans! Thanks Daphne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANNYHO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Turrell, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
5/20/10 - UPDATE. I made this dish for the 4th BBQ and people RAVE about these beans. I tend to not use the bell peppers though...This is a super easy and super inexpensive dish to make. I doubled the recipe and followed as is minus the green peppers. I thought that overall it was really good but maybe a little too tangy??!!? I used the right amount of Worchester and Vinegar so I'm not sure what I did wrong. But it still got a TON of compliments on it and it went pretty fast. No one else seemed to mention the tanginess of it so perhaps I didn't measure quite exact? Dunno. Bottom line I will try it again be/ca overall the taste was awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACYRE
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Just made this today for the 4th of July and had to quadruple the recipe for the party. Used 1 lb regular sausage crumbled and it tastes MARVELOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This was really good. I was looking for something spicy that had some sort of meat in it as well. I used hot ground pork sausage and it turned out really good. My oldest son and his girlfriend were the taste testers and they both loved the flavor. Personally, when I make these for the 4th of July I will make them with a little more heat, maybe add some jalapenos!!!! Give this one a try. You won't be dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Lana
Home Town: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
So simple, so yummy and definitely Texan because it has got the heat in the dish that they love, love, love. If your not big on spicy...your still going to love it ;-) Just omit a little of the chili powder by a tablespoon or so and use beef sausage instead of spicy. Like others strongly suggested, I stuck with Bush Beans and it was great. PS: Thanks for submitting this because I needed something quick to wow the in-laws (all whom are Texas natives and proud of it) this 4th of July weekend and this recipe will be a huge hit :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly DFW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Without changing a thing, this came out to be a hearty and fragrant dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipeDawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I used about a 1/2 pound of ground sausage rather than slices of sausage links. Everyone loved it! This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
YUMMY! Made these last night in the crock pot. Husband watched me browning the sausage in the morning..I like that he sees me toiling in the kitchen before he goes to work 'as if'. I'm definitely going to make these for a neighbor's baby shower/fill the freezer and diaper shower!!! Thanks very much for the recipe-I've been wanting a fabulous bean recipe for a lonnngg time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by unfurledgirl
Home Town: Granville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Excellent recipe! Everyone loved the beans and were asking for the recipe. It's definitely a keeper. Only a few changes to use what I had on hand at the house. 1. I increased serving size to 8. 2. Used a large can (54 oz.) of bush's baked beans. 3. Used a roll of sausage (medium heat) crumbled, browned and drained. 4. A splash of spicy A-1 sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States