Baked Beans, Texas Ranger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Way too sweet and too much ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Free Union, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Using a 28 oz. can of Bush's Baked Beans, I followed the recipe except that I forgot to add garlic powder, and I don't care for sausage, so I left that out. I opted for adding cayenne, which gave the beans a nice zing. The sweetness is offset just the right amount by the tartness of the other ingredients. Even with the omissions, I think this recipe is a sure winner that I definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
These were great baked beans! I decided to go out of my territory and try a different and new recipe other than my usual. This was a nice change but I dont think it will be replacing our favorite. But it will definitely be made again! Like a lot of others have said, it was very soupy. I like my baked beans a little soupy, but this was too much. So I added a drained small can of pork and beans to it to help the consistency. We also like our baked beans sweet so I added a little more brown sugar. I used cider vinegar as well and a little less than called for. I cooked these low and slow in the crockpot for several hours, then right before serving put them in a 400 degree oven to get them nice and bubbly for about 30 minutes. These made a nice spicy baked bean. Very good and different! Thanks for the recipe! UPDATE: Ive made these a second time but without the sausage since I was serving it along side of pork ribs. I didnt put them in the slow cooker this time but baked them. I baked them for about 2 hours so that they would get nice and thick and dark brown. They were delicious and I think I prefer making them this way without the sausage and cooking longer in the oven so all the liquid gets thick and caramelized. They still are a nice spicy bean without the sausage. I did add a little extra brown sugar again the second time, along with apple cider vinegar in place of the regular. 5 stars for sure this way, for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Good flavor beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Personally, I'd give this recipe 2 stars at most. I find it too sweet and salty. However, we've served it to guests twice and some of them seemed to like it. I just find it overwhelming as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semichee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I didn't have any sausage, so I browned 4 slices of bacon, and sauteed the onions in the grease. I omitted the green pepper, but otherwise, I followed the recipe to the letter. I can't decide whether there is too much ketchup or too much Worcestershire sauce, but I will play with this recipe a bit until I get it exactly to my personal tastes. Overall, a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This is one of my most frequently used recipes from this site!! My copy is used so often, it's spattered with Texas Ranger Bean delicousness! Standard recipe works great, though I use only 3Tbl apple cider vinegar. Great when done on the stovetop, too! I've used all types of sausage, but spicy has been most popular with my bunch. Great recipe, Daphne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I know this has been on the site for a while however, I today just tired it and I have to let you know... "OFF THE HOOK" the only change I made was I use 1lb ground pork sausage(hot Jimmy Deans)... great stuff! TY for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise W

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Fox Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
It was good, but I wasn't blown away by this. Don't know that I'll go out of my way to make it again, but I am glad I tried it. I agree that it needed more beans. Maybe thrown an extra can of drained pintos in on top of the can of baked beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki-b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I made these beans for the first time to take to a potluck, so took some the of the negative reviews into consideration and proceeded cautiously. Some said it turns out too soupy: I used 2 28 oz. cans pork & beans and drained some of the liquid from the cans. Still turned out on the soupy side. Will drain completely next time. Too spicy: Used same amounts of spices as recipe calls for when using only one can of beans. Too vinegary: Used 2 Tbs vinegar instead of 4. Used apple cider vinegar. I used VanKamp Pork & Beans. With the added can of beans, the only other increases I made in the recipe were, to use a LARGE onion (sweet), a LARGE bell pepper, and added an extra 1/4 brown sugar and 1 additional sausage. I sauteed the onion, bell pepper and sausage before mixing everything together, and cooked on high in a crock pot for 3 hours. Everyone loved the beans. As a side dish it served 8 with a little left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States