Baked Beans, Texas Ranger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I am not a fan of baked beans but this recipe made me an ultimate fan! Thank you so much for this recipe..it will be used again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by isa3077

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Palmyra, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
These are a fav in my fam! Except i buy 3 cans of the large beans, and i buy 3 different flavors that Bush Beans offers, for a mixture (honey,boston,maple). I use 1 onion & 1 bell pepper. I then double the rest of the ingredients and put it in a crock pot and let sit on low 1/2 day or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This recipe is great. I made this for a church picnic and while it was easy to cook on a large scale it still turned out well. I did make a few little changes including: using bacon instead of sausage, skipping the bell pepper, using a red onion, and adding some extra spices and a little whiskey as the beans slow cooked. There ya go pilgrim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This is such a wonderful recipe. I completely followed it the first time and did find that it could use more beans. Other then that it is great. Everyone went for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Easy quick and delish.... Loved it....I did use pre cooked sausage to save time and fat......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I didn't elimate any extra liquid from the can of baked beans (Bush's Homestyle Baked Beans) but then decreased the vinegar by 1 tablespoon. We're not big green pepper fans so I used 2 teaspoons crushed red pepper flakes instead. I also picked up 1/2 pound spicy pork sausage to replace the links. My mother-in-law preferred these to her own family recipe. **5/12 addition: We have made these several times since the original review and still love them. I've gotten "braver" and save myself some kitchen warmth by using the slow cooker. Half a day in there and they're as good or better than from the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Delicious! Even my extremely picky vegetarian son liked it! Used a combo of left over canned vegetarian baked beans & left over Best Black Beans from this site to measure out about 28 ounces, half the onion & bell pepper, & used left over home made pizza sauce instead of ketchup. Instead of sausage, I crumbled up some left over hamburger patties (set aside some non-meat mixture for vegetarian son). Served with Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread from this site (made with gluten free all purpose flour). Delicious served cold the next day! This recipe is so versatile & forgiving! Great recipe, especially for an ok cook like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheelersburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Way too sweet and too much ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Free Union, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Using a 28 oz. can of Bush's Baked Beans, I followed the recipe except that I forgot to add garlic powder, and I don't care for sausage, so I left that out. I opted for adding cayenne, which gave the beans a nice zing. The sweetness is offset just the right amount by the tartness of the other ingredients. Even with the omissions, I think this recipe is a sure winner that I definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States