Baked Beans, Texas Ranger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This was a great recipe, but then again, I love pretty much anything in this genre (baked beans or pork and beans, doctored up). I was a little confused on the main "baked beans with pork" ingredient, though. I checked my store shelves and didn't know if you meant "baked beans" (which featured bacon and brown sugar), or "pork and beans" (which featured pork and tomato puree). And the recipe already had both brown sugar and ketchup (tomatoes, that is). I chose the pork and beans. For the sausages, I used some Johnsonville "Hot Italian Sausage Links". Otherwise, I made the recipe exactly as written, using a yellow onion and rice vinegar. The results were very tasty, but the Italian sausage was a little unusual (but good) in flavor here. The sauce was richly-flavored, too, and I liked the addition of the diced pepper and onion - they fleshed out the dish. I'll save this one, and perhaps make it again with a different type of spicy sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I must say these beans were excellent. But my husband didn't care for them when I first took out of oven and tasted. The following day was our party and he couldn't believe this was the same beans. The flavor was soooo much better a day later. They were a hit! ( make sure you make more than you need so you have leftovers )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Got many compliments and has a very strong flavor. A little more watery than I prefer, but great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eating Indy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
by far the best beans, always receive compliments on them by spice lovers of all levels..the only change Ive made is by using ground sausage...husband insists that this is a camping staple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Wonderful. My family just about licked the dish clean! Great recipe Daphne! I personally know this cook and she really should have her own restraunt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
These are the best baked beans I ever had! I would recommend them to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This just really wasn't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This baked beans recipe is fantastic. It has been a while since I had meat in my baked beans and the sausages that you put in this recipe work wonderfully. I will continue to use this as my baked bean recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
These beans were great. The only thing I switched was to use bacon because that was all I had. This will now be my new baked bean recipe. I love that they were sweet with a bit of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prell2k4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I will start off by saying that i have been making these beans using this recipe for a good 1 1/2yrs at least. This is a really good recipe. My kids are picky eaters and they love these beans. I made these beans about 2 weeks ago for my girlfriend and she ask for them every weekend. Even the aroma these beans give off during cooking gets me compliments if company comes over. I use the Bush Brown Sugar and Bacon beans in the brown can for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States