Baked Beans III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
We didnt care for these at all. I followed the recipe exactly, but the beans came out with an overcooked taste to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
deserves 5 stars just because they're so darned easy and delicious. i took other users' advice and added the dry mustard as well as onions (that's how dear old mom used to make 'em). the only thing i would caution against is doubling the sugar if you double the beans. i don't think it's necessary and wouldn't next time; very sweet. but i didn't get any complaints, either. and everyone loved all the bacon pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
I made these for the 4th of July barbecue and got many great reviews. Will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSTOTALFITNESS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
OMG!!! This is the best recipe! Added the dry mustard. Nobody could stop eating it. Next batch, I'll try adding some onion as mentioned. I'm an overnight sensation! Only took a few decades. THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
Well, I was a skeptic...I mean, how can such a simple recipe be so good? But I made these (tripled the recipe) for a cookout and everyone absolutely raved about them. People who didn't even like baked beans went back for seconds and thirds. The funny thing is that when I tasted them, I thought they were just okay. But at the end of the day I had a completely empty pot to take home. I skipped the oven part and threw everything together in a crockpot, cooked it on low for 4-5 hours and had great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
The best Baked Bean recipe I have found yet! Simple , quick and easy to make, and above all the whole family from youngest to oldest enjoyed it. The only change I made was to add a half medium onion finely chopped on top of the brown sugar when I cook my bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
very good ,I doubled and added 1 1/2 tsp dried mustard,baked at home then transfered to crock pot to keep warm. NO LEFTOVERS Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
Excellent baked beans. I received many compliments on them. I doubled the recipe, but replaced the bacon with a 12 oz. package of turkey bacon. I also added a minced small yellow onion and 1 tsp. dried mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
These were very good! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
I made this recipe in a cast iron skillet. I used 3 strips of bacon, ¼ cup onion and ½ cup lightly packed brown sugar. I layered them in that order in the skillet and put over low heat. When all the sugar was melted I stirred the mixture and let it cook very slowly for a total of about 20 minutes. Then stir in the canned beans and 1 tsp. of dry mustard. The whole thing goes into the oven for 30 minutes. The onions weren't even detected by my onion hating daughter. Beware, this is very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVING4HIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States