Baked Beans III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 30, 2006
After reading the reviews, I only used 2 Tbsp of brown sugar. I'm glad that I did. They were plenty sweet, but not overwhelmingly so. I also chopped an onion & sauteed it with the bacon and added a dollop of prepared yellow mustard to the beans before baking. Oh & I used Bush's Baked Beans in the can to start with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
First of all let me say I made some pretty big changes so it may not be fair for me to rate this recipe, but it was the basis of what I did. I didn't have bacon so I used about 1/3 c. Hormel bacon bits (the kind in the bag), 1/3 c. brown sugar, 1 tsp. canola oil and stirred on the stove until the sugar melted. I then added 1/4 c. chopped onion, 1 tbs. yellow mustard and 1 16 oz. can of Bush's Baked Beans. I let this simmer for about 30 minutes and it was a huge improvement over the beans straight out of the can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I know, I know. It's just baked beans and bacon, right? Wrong! It was DELICIOUS. The bacon sauteed in brown sugar and onions... it just worked so well and added more flavor than you could ever hope to get from a can. I made it for a party and it was a huge hit! I'm going to make this for myself quite often. Normally I'm not a baked bean person, but I couldn't get enough of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haley James

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I tried this recipe tonight for Memorial Day and it was only so-so for us. I cut the brown sugar back to 6 oz. and it was still very sweet. I also felt like it would have been better with a little mustard added. I might try it again using pork and beans instead of baked beans and adding a touch of mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
Wow! Who knew ? I looked at the recipe and thought... I put brown sugar in beans all the time,I then read that you cook the bacon with the brown sugar.This was the secret to this bean recipe.I did drain off the grease before I mixed with the beans and I too added one sweet onion and a tsp. dry mustard. This is better than the old family secret recipe,but it is very sweet. Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: May 8, 2006
My family loved. The first time I did the bacon I walked away for one minute and came back to black tar. (Okay more like 5 minutes :0) The second time I cooked the bacon just a little and then added the sugar (prefer our bacon a little more cooked) I ended up cutting down on the sugar about 6 ounces (per reviews) and my family could not get enough. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
Delicious as usual. I also added a bit of regular yellow mustard as well as some diced onion and green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
I loved them. My family and I enjoyed this along with our babyback ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Keflavík, Suðurnes, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This was a different approach to baked beans for us and we loved it. The flavor was wonderful and will make them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
This is a keepr recipe! I use Bushes Original beans. The only thing I changed is that I do the bacon and brown sugar step in the oven. Then I pour the beans over that, stir and stick back in the oven. My in-laws loved it when I brought it for a bbq. My kids beg for me to make it again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brigitte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States