Baked Beans III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
The first time I made these they were way TOO sweet. My husband said they were so sweet they made his teeth hurt. I made some adjustments. I did not add the brown sugar while cooking the bacon. Instead, I used two cans of baked beans (great value) and a pound of bacon, fried crispy and crumbled. I fine diced a small onion, sauteed it and mixed it with the baked beans, bacon and 1/2 c. brown sugar. I also added 1 tsp. dry mustard to the mixture. It was a hit and got lots of compliments from my college football tailgate crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
The beans with the brown sugar was good but the bacon was so slimy. I followed the directions but I think maybe I should've cooked the bacon longer. Also, I baked the beans based on the recommended time but the middle was still not hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VTKENDRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This is really good for such a simple recipe. I did add one extra 28 oz. can of Bush's Baked Beans with brown sugar and bacon and 1 heaping tsp. dry mustard as suggested by other reviewers. Outstanding results! I served this with Scott Hibbs Amazing Whiskey Grilled Ribs from this site, a green salad, and Lemon Glazed Cake, also from this site. Fantastic meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Very easy and very tasty. These are the only beans I make now. I changed the recipe to add 1 more 28 oz. can of beans and 1 small onion, finely chopped. I also drain most of the liquid the beans come in. Turns our really well this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I really liked these and so did everyone at my picnic. Like other Reviewers, I used about 1/2 the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
This recipe was so simple and my family loved it! I will be making it all summer long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDY16256
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
It's easy to make, it tastes good and my family loves it! I am asked to bring them to every family function. Until I learn how to make them from scratch, this recipe will do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bekah Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Very good! I doubled the beans (took advice from others and used the Bush's Baked Beans with brown sugar and bacon, added a large chopped sweet onion, and kept the brown sugar and bacon the same. They were plenty sweet enough! Excellent and very easy to make--a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Easy and Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Fabulous! I made it for some guests this weekend and they loved it. Only change I made was to use 1/2 the amount of sugar. It was PLENTY sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollowayb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haddon Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States