Baked Beans III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Made recipe as is and it was great. High rating for easy prep and taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYTAZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Easy & tasted OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandyAnne
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I quadrupled the recipe to feed 20 at a family dinner and like a number of other people suggested, added powdered mustard and diced onion. It got great reviews from everybody who ate it but I felt it was far too sweet so I probably stick to the 8oz of brown sugar next time even while quadrupling everything else. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franconia, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pennsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Did 2-28 ounce cans of Great Value Beans and mixed with one tsp. of dry mustard. Cut up 12 ounces of turkey bacon, one onion, 4 fat free hot dogs (happened to have them sitting there in a zip lock), topped with 4 ounces of brown sugar and fried that up and let it simmer and soak up all the juices for about 45 minutes. Mixed it all together and put in the oven for one hour at 400.....DELICIOUS!!!! OMG, it was so good! I can't believe it. This is a recipe for a main meal....not a side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Wow! So easy and yet so good - ya gotta love it when a few simple ingredients come together for something so tasty! This definitely is a favorite at every BBQ meal and this recipe has a wonderful flavor probably due in part to bacon (which makes just about anything taste better)! Other than adding a bit of molasses (something my Grandma Helen taught me) I wouldn't change a thing. This is a great way to take a regular 'ol can of baked beans and turn them into something special without a lot of effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This is amazing. Drain the grease off of the bacon(cut up before you cook it and I use a full pound) before sprinkling with the brown sugar. I also add a tablespoon of Coleman's dry mustard and 1/2 a sauteed vidalia onion. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Oh my gosh, this is so yummy. Everyone loved it at the office
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This is so tasty and I haven't even baked it yet. It is sweet though, so I'll use less sugar next time. I also chopped an onion into the bacon mix and added 1 tsp ground mustard as other reviewers suggested. I only used a little of the bacon grease/sugar mix left in the pan as I try to keep it a little healthier. May try turkey bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Really good and really easy. The brown sugar carmelizes the bacon, which is a flavor that's hard to beat. I used the cast iron skillet method, which is even better because it only uses one pan. It baked for about 30 minutes, intil thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greykitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havre, Montana, USA
Living In: Sunnyside, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Every where I go people request that I make this. I cook bacon with one sweet chopped onion until bacon is crispy. Drain all fat and add to beans. Then add brown sugar and mix. I then add a little brown sugar to the top before baking. Bake at least one hour for perfection!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States