Baked Beans III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
These are really yummy! I reduced the amount of sugar based on other reviews. I doubled the beans and bacon for a larger crowd and probably only used 4-8 oz of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
Very good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoisonIvy250

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Definatly a keeper. Who'd have thought you could turn that from the can into such a delicious and satisfying dish? Everyone who ate it raved about it. Next time, I'm gonna try reducing the sugar a bit, and adding some bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This was good! I changed just a few things though. I did add some onion and I like my bacon cooked well so I sauteed it all the way through before adding the sugar. And I didn't add quite as much sugar as the recipe calls for. I've made this recipe twice this weekend already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
I made this recipe for a 4th of July BBQ and got many compliments! Very easy and quick to make. This will be my main baked beans recipe from now on. However, I did use only about half of the brown sugar the recipe called for when I tripled the recipe. It was perfect with only half of the sweetness. Also, I prefer my bacon to be a bit more on the cooked side so think I will try frying the bacon for a few minutes before I add the brown sugar next time. Num!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
Yummy. Made these for the 4th and there weren't any leftovers. Very easy. I used 4 oz. of brown sugar per can instead of 8. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raidergirl79
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Such a keeper recipe! This is one way to soothe a hungry man quickly and keep him coming back for more. My friend brought the ingredients on a 3-day camping trip and cooked it on the coals of our campfire. It was more popular than marinated steak and shrimp dishes we also made. I use unsulphured molasses or real maple syrup if I don't have enough brown sugar. And, here in Florida, it wouldn't be baked beans without Vidalia onion. This is a versatile, simple recipe that can easily be adjusted for individual tastes. I like that it can be frozen, cooked in a crock pot, frying pan, casserole dish, or campfire. It has minerals, protein, iron, and fiber as well (just don't tell the men it's good for them). Thanks, Barclay, for a job well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Hudson, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I made these beans just as the recipe called for and they were a hit! I get asked to bring these beans to all family get-togethers now. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
After reading the reviews, I only used 2 Tbsp of brown sugar. I'm glad that I did. They were plenty sweet, but not overwhelmingly so. I also chopped an onion & sauteed it with the bacon and added a dollop of prepared yellow mustard to the beans before baking. Oh & I used Bush's Baked Beans in the can to start with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Oberlin Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
First of all let me say I made some pretty big changes so it may not be fair for me to rate this recipe, but it was the basis of what I did. I didn't have bacon so I used about 1/3 c. Hormel bacon bits (the kind in the bag), 1/3 c. brown sugar, 1 tsp. canola oil and stirred on the stove until the sugar melted. I then added 1/4 c. chopped onion, 1 tbs. yellow mustard and 1 16 oz. can of Bush's Baked Beans. I let this simmer for about 30 minutes and it was a huge improvement over the beans straight out of the can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States