Baked Beans III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2007
Huge hit at our party. We changed it to make 20 servings. Used the Bush's baked beans with brown sugar and bacon, so we didn't double the brown sugar and bacon,just the beans. Also added onion when making the bacon and 1 tsp dried mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
I made this recipe in a cast iron skillet. I used 3 strips of bacon, ¼ cup onion and ½ cup lightly packed brown sugar. I layered them in that order in the skillet and put over low heat. When all the sugar was melted I stirred the mixture and let it cook very slowly for a total of about 20 minutes. Then stir in the canned beans and 1 tsp. of dry mustard. The whole thing goes into the oven for 30 minutes. The onions weren't even detected by my onion hating daughter. Beware, this is very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVING4HIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
Definitely not low calorie, but this is a fabulous dish. I added chopped onion and a heaping tsp. of dry mustard. Everyone at the picnic raved about the flavor and I had several requests for the recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I know, I know. It's just baked beans and bacon, right? Wrong! It was DELICIOUS. The bacon sauteed in brown sugar and onions... it just worked so well and added more flavor than you could ever hope to get from a can. I made it for a party and it was a huge hit! I'm going to make this for myself quite often. Normally I'm not a baked bean person, but I couldn't get enough of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haley James

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
GREAT twist to baked beans. Rachel Ray actually used this recipe (or one exactly like it) in one of her 30 min meal shows. We actually tried it from watching the show and although I have tried a lot of oustanding baked bean recipes, this one is the easiest but still has that wow factor. Adding some onions in (add them with the brown sugar - don't mix in the beans) is also a good optional item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Awesome, easy, need I say more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Wow! So easy and yet so good - ya gotta love it when a few simple ingredients come together for something so tasty! This definitely is a favorite at every BBQ meal and this recipe has a wonderful flavor probably due in part to bacon (which makes just about anything taste better)! Other than adding a bit of molasses (something my Grandma Helen taught me) I wouldn't change a thing. This is a great way to take a regular 'ol can of baked beans and turn them into something special without a lot of effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
I made this recipe for a 4th of July BBQ and got many compliments! Very easy and quick to make. This will be my main baked beans recipe from now on. However, I did use only about half of the brown sugar the recipe called for when I tripled the recipe. It was perfect with only half of the sweetness. Also, I prefer my bacon to be a bit more on the cooked side so think I will try frying the bacon for a few minutes before I add the brown sugar next time. Num!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2001
This recipe turned out great. I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
This was very tasty and EASY! I doubled the recipe, but only used 12 oz. of bacon and about 4 tbsp. of brown sugar. Used the "original" Bush's baked beans. Turned out perfect! I would definitely not use any more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States