Baked Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I made this for a cookout I had when everyone left my 9x13 pan was empty. So I made it again for my family again the 8X8 pan was empty. This seems to be the only baked bean recipe I made with no left overs. It is easy to make and tasted so good. I like to cut the bacon in tiny bite size so when it's done I mix it with the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle37185

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I decreased the recipe for 1-2 servings. I used one can of Campbell's Pork and Beans. Cut the brown sugar in half and omitted the onion since I used red wine garlic vinegar. I baked in the oven until thick, I'm not sure of the time but I didn't need to drain the beans and it was delicious! I cooked the bacon in the microwave for a minute to decrease the grease. It was a simple recipe that we enjoyed. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Very easy and delicious way to doctor up ordinary pork and beans. I used about a 1/4 lb. of bacon cut into bite sized pieces and cooked it together with the onions before I added to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
The best beans ever! There is never any left when I make these. You do not have to change anything in this recipe because it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I have been using this as my go-to recipe for baked beans and always gotten rave reviews. I am not sure why people think they are "runny"...there is no expectation on beans with that regard just give them a taste and you will see. I do use apple cider vinegar over red wine vinegar as I usually have that on hand and I don't usually need to add much salt and pepper since I use pepper bacon and chop it up right into the beans. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Glendora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
They were a bit liquidy, so I did cut back on the ketchup and br sugar by half, as suggested through others. Then whammo!! Baked beans that have people forgettin about the ribs on the grill! LOL I call them P*ssed Off Beans because that's what they do to the guy grillin!! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
We liked the flavor, but it was too sweet. Less brown sugar next time would make it a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I used the plain cheap canned pork and beans; no need to spend money on the beans when you're making your own sauce. I cut the sugar in half, and it was still quite sweet. I also used about 6 slices of chopped bacon that I blended right into the beans. I let everything simmer on low in the crockpot for five hours, and it was great served with ribs and slaw for a BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This recipe would be considered semi-homemade which is how I make baked beans these days. I don't, however, use the semi-homemade baking recipes on allrecipes.com. It is a good basic recipe to follow while using some of the suggestions made by the other cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJWEYERMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I really love this recipe for baked beans, and you can change the recipe to your taste. I use a small ceramic dutch oven and chop and brown turkey bacon then add onion to saute for a while and deglaze the pan with the vinegar and worcestershire sauce. Then I mix all the other ingredients in the pan, mix, and throw it in the oven. I'm making it for the third time tonight because my guy has requested it to go with our Easter ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States