Baked Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
These beans are great! I only used 1/4 cup each of brown sugar and ketchup, so there was no problem with it being "runny". I also cooked 4 slices of bacon then chopped it and mixed it in. That way I could use more bacon, but keep the grease out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Jackie's description of her recipe is perfect: "A quick and easy way to dress up ordinary pork and beans. The measurements are estimates, but really you can adjust anything to personal taste." I couldn't have said it better myself. Other than reducing the brown sugar by half, I stuck to the recipe. As hubby said, "they were wonderful." And I say this was a big payoff for very little effort using ingredients right off the pantry shelf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Will def make again BUT was mushy.... Too much liquid between the juice from the beans and ketchup! I think I read a review that said they made twice - 2nd time draining the liquid from the beans 1st. Plans to do that next time! Overall delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
At first I wasn't sure if this would be good because the ingredients seemed strange. I threw all of it in the crockpot on low for 2 hours, and WOW! It was sure yummy. I would suggest having it with some BBQ chicken or something like that. YUM YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
I doubled recipe, but only used 1/2 of the sugar. I used old style mustard instead of regular, 5 slices of bacon and baked them in the oven for about 3 hours. They thickened up very nicely. Great beans. Will make again & again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHIPPY10

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2001
Very good and easy to make. I used less sugar than the recipe called for with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Wow! So easy and yet so good! This reminds me of the way my Grandma Helen used to make baked beans for every summer picnic. Other than cutting back on the ketchup and adding a bit of molasses and liquid smoke I wouldn't change a thing. This definitely is a great way to take a regular 'ol can of baked beans and turn them into something special without a lot of effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
We made this recipe for an office opening and it was awesome! Be careful of what bacon you use to insure its not too smokey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
I have always made my beans in a crock pot and cook them all day. I made these last night and while I said they were pretty good, my husband said he thought they were the best beans he has ever had. I used powdered mustard and added some arrowroot to thicken them a bit. I had no choice but to write this when he said today, let's make these again tonight. Looks like a winner, thanks Jackie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
Very Good!! I think I will cut down on the brown sugar next time because it was a little too sweet for our taste. I used Bush's beans and they are already sweet. Also I crumbled cooked bacon in with the beans to cut down on the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States