Baked Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
HOLY SMOKES!!!!!! These are awesome! i did follow one readers advice and cup the ketchup and sugar down to 1/4 cup...but i think no matter what they would have been STELLAR! I ABSOLUTELY LOVED THEM! The simplicity mixed with the aroma going on my kitchen is heaven! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Braiden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This was really, really good! Even my bean hater ate this! What a miracle recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
pretty good. not great. would make again. i think they are just missing a hint of something. can't figure out what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Very good! I chopped the bacon and mixed it in to the beans before I baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
VERY TASTY!! I was hungry for baked beans, but I didn't have the assortment of beans I needed to make my favorite recipe, so I thought I'd give this a try. We both liked these a lot. It may not replace my favorite, but it's great to make if you just have regular canned baked beans on hand. My can of beans was 28 oz., so I scaled back the other ingredients a bit and only ended up using 3 T. of brown sugar. The bacon on the top may have added flavor, but it didn't crisp up for me and was unappealing looking when it came out of the oven. I might skip the bacon next time to compare. Regardless, I will make this one again! Thank you!! UPDATE 11/13/12 - I made this again and instead of putting the raw bacon on top, I cooked the bacon completely in the microwave, crumbled it and mixed it in with the beans. I would do that again next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Good recipe. One potential addition that would always be found in TX/OK barbecue: put in a bit of liquid smoke, to taste. I prefer the mesquite, though you might also try hickory. It gives a unique piquancy and aroma that is very pleasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alan E.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This was very tasty, but the next time I make it, i think I'll cut down on the sugar. it was a little on the sweet side. Also, I accidentally used an extra piece of bacon, but how can extra bacon be a bad thing =-) .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Alright, but not rave-worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Fantastic and easy. I usually don't have time to actually bake them, so I start by sauteing the onion, then add 1/2 lb of chopped raw bacon. When the bacon's mostly done frying, I add the rest of the ingredients and simmer. It's terrific this way, but I'm sure it's great according to the original recipe, too. There are rarely leftovers in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
These beans are wonderful! I didn't change something though... instead of cooking them in the oven, I cook them on the stove and simmer them for 20 mins. I also used real bacon bits instead of slices of uncooked bacon. These were easy and really yummy! This is now our go-to grill out side recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States