Baked Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
LOVE IT!!! I took this to a school function...twice. Each time; there were no leftovers. I use busch's baked beans with maple syrup. The best part you can make this a day ahead and it actually tastes better. Has time for the flavors to mix together. Best beans I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Giovetti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendo, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This recipe is delicious. So easy to make and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Awesome!!!! Quick and easy, flavorful and delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This was a really good recipe. Will definitely make again. Mine turned out a little soupy. I used Campbell's Pork & Beans. I used turkey bacon for the bacon and a sweet vidalia onion. For the mustard, I used Spicy Brown Mustard. I was surprised it didn't taste mustardy. It was a really good balance! I also didn't have regular brown sugar so I used the Splenda brown sugar blend. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is the fact that is was too soupy for my liking. I will try with a different brand of beans next time to see if that fixes the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This is pretty much the recipe I use and that has been a part of my family ever since I can remember. There are some minor changes I make. First, 2 28oz cans of Bush Homestyle beans will make a good amount for a crowd. For my family of 5, just one can will do. I do NOT DRAIN THE CANS!!!!! You will lose flavor! Take out that nasty piece of salt pork or whatever it is. Dump the beans in a crock pot. I don't bother sauteing the onion or cooking the bacon before hand. I just cut up my bacon (1/2 lb for the 2 large cans I mentioned) and onion and put it right in with the beans. I eyeball the ketchup, mustard, and brown sugar, but I know that my ratio is different. If I had to guess, I'd say I probably use about 3/4 cup ketchup for the 2 cans of beans I mentioned earlier, 1 (maybe 2) tablespoons of mustard, and 2 or 3 loose handfuls of brown sugar. Let it cook all day on low. About an hour or so before you want to serve it, give it a taste to see if it needs anything, and if seems soupy, just turn the crock pot up for that last hour. These are the only baked beans I will eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I made these baked beans tonight for couples bunco, and the people are very picky and they loved "my bake beans!" all i kept hearing was who made the beans, I love them! (and even forgot to put in the ketcup! lol.. these are great, quick and easy to make!I did put in a little less Mustard, cause I hate mustard! I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
These were quick and easy! I did make them twice; once as directed and the second time I had to improvise. The second time around, I was out of onion so I added about 2 tbsps. of dried chopped onion. I was also out of bacon so I decided to omit it. I do have to say that it tasted better with the bacon just for that extra crunch, but no one really noticed until I mentioned that I'd left it out. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Erie, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
These beans were very good. I made it with Turkey bacon instead to cut down on the fat. Next time I would put a little less mustard in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frontier_man

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marcus, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I used only 5 slices of bacon, cooking 4 in the microwave and only one, chopped up, in a pan with the chopped onion. I used 2 28-oz. cans of bush's original baked beans. Put in my slow cooker on low for 2 hours. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
They taste better than they look! Having a cookout today, they should go over pretty well. Easy to make and it makes a lot! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States