Baked Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This recipe is great, however I've made a few modifications that have made it even better! 1. it's not really necessary to use as much bacon as the recipe calls for. If you cut the bacon in half it still tastes the same, and is not quite as bad for you! 2. always drain the bacon grease before adding the onions, and always drain the sauce from the canned beans before adding them, or the recipe comes out too soupy. 3. I think the mustard taste is a little strong, so I cut back on the mustard just a tad. I've made this recipe several times for about 20 people, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I rarely give out 5-star ratings, but this recipe deserves it, I think. Not only was it very tasty, but it's quick and easy to make, too. This was probably the first time in my life I'd taken canned baked beans (I used Bush's "Original"), which I like by themselves, and fixed them up to make them even better. I'm not a big fan of mustard, but I had a jar of Hickory Farms Sweet-Hot Mustard which I wanted to use up. It was a 2.25 oz. jar by weight, and it was probably less than 1/4 cup, but more than 1/8, I think. And I couldn't find 15 oz. cans of beans, so I used 2 16 oz. cans. Therefore I made this with a little more baked beans, and a little less mustard, than the recipe called for. For the onion, I used a large, sweet Vidalia. After I "finely chopped" it, I thought there might be too much onion in the recipe, but the end result was just right. I did drain the oil after cooking the bacon and onions, though. In the end, this was a nice, thick, not too sweet, and only slightly mustardy dish. I loved having lots of bacon and onions in there too. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
We loved it, they were nice & thick just how we like. I loved the fact that there was no baking, I was able to whip this up in a bind! Thanks dooper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
We loved these! Sweat out the onions in the bacon fat and put everything in the crockpot for the afternoon. I added about a tablesp. worcheshire and a pinch of crushed red pepper. Great homebaked taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
First, let me start by saying I'm not a baked beans fan. My mother makes them all the time and they are simply not good. I made these beans for Easter and this recipe made me a baked bean lover! The flavors blend so great together, and I was worried about the ketchup/mustard combo, but it really works. I made this exactly as the recipe is written and got lots of raves. They taste like you really put a lot of work into them and baked them all day. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
Yummy, yummy, yummy! I have several baked bean recipes, but this one is definitely the best! I would recommend NOT using Bush's regular baked beans as they make the disk too soupy. I made this again with B&M, and it was much better. This recipe is a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CT_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Windsor Locks, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Followed recipe exactly- these are great beans that have been requested multiple times since I first made them. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
These were the best baked beans I have made.I made them for my brother's home coming party.Everyone loved them.Did not follow the recipe all the way. I put everything into a dish & cooked it all at one time.I added everything to taste( mustard & ket)Even my 3yr ate them.Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Mmmm, really delicious. I've never really done anything to baked beans before but this really added to them. I cooked the bacon and then removed it and poured out the grease. I then carmelized the onions in the same pan (just a hint of bacon grease in the skillet). Then I added the bacon, beans, ketchup and mustard. I know it seems weird to add ketchup and mustard but it tastes great. I only added about a tablespoon of brown sugar and it was plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Our family loves baked beans in the summer months! I only used half the bacon specified in the recipe (and it was turkey bacon). Cut the brown sugar in half and added a small amount of cooked ground sage sausage. Instead of cooking in the oven, placed in crock pot and cooked on low for 2 hours. I really like adding leftover hamburgers or meatloaf crumbled up the next day in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States