Baked Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This recipe is great, however I've made a few modifications that have made it even better! 1. it's not really necessary to use as much bacon as the recipe calls for. If you cut the bacon in half it still tastes the same, and is not quite as bad for you! 2. always drain the bacon grease before adding the onions, and always drain the sauce from the canned beans before adding them, or the recipe comes out too soupy. 3. I think the mustard taste is a little strong, so I cut back on the mustard just a tad. I've made this recipe several times for about 20 people, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Our family loves baked beans in the summer months! I only used half the bacon specified in the recipe (and it was turkey bacon). Cut the brown sugar in half and added a small amount of cooked ground sage sausage. Instead of cooking in the oven, placed in crock pot and cooked on low for 2 hours. I really like adding leftover hamburgers or meatloaf crumbled up the next day in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
These beans have the best flavor. I fixed them for Christmas and they were a hit. I did add bell pepper to the onion and bacon and sauted them together. I only add a tad of mustard and more brown sugar than called for. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Graysville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I rarely give out 5-star ratings, but this recipe deserves it, I think. Not only was it very tasty, but it's quick and easy to make, too. This was probably the first time in my life I'd taken canned baked beans (I used Bush's "Original"), which I like by themselves, and fixed them up to make them even better. I'm not a big fan of mustard, but I had a jar of Hickory Farms Sweet-Hot Mustard which I wanted to use up. It was a 2.25 oz. jar by weight, and it was probably less than 1/4 cup, but more than 1/8, I think. And I couldn't find 15 oz. cans of beans, so I used 2 16 oz. cans. Therefore I made this with a little more baked beans, and a little less mustard, than the recipe called for. For the onion, I used a large, sweet Vidalia. After I "finely chopped" it, I thought there might be too much onion in the recipe, but the end result was just right. I did drain the oil after cooking the bacon and onions, though. In the end, this was a nice, thick, not too sweet, and only slightly mustardy dish. I loved having lots of bacon and onions in there too. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
EXCELLENT!! Tasted just like my Pop's, but I never knew how he made it! Now I do!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I have probably only had baked beans maybe once in my life but I wanted to make them for my fiance who likes them. I started out with 2 16oz. cans of vegetarian baked beans (I have a phobia of canned meats so I didn't want pork in them, plus you add bacon). I browned the bacon in the oven and only used a teaspoon of the grease to saute the onion. I added both to the beans along with the ketchup and mustard. Then I tasted them. They were already pretty sweet and bland so I omitted the brown sugar and added 2T. of worcestershire sauce, 2T. barbeque sauce and 1 tsp. cider vinegar. My fiance thought they were worthy of 5 stars which he rarely gives. I thought they were pretty good but I don't really have much to compare them with. So, in the end after making a completely different recipe we rate these beans 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I liked these beans, and they were fairly easy to make, but the family didn't seem to like them too much. Like some of the other reviews, I think the mustard should probably be cut down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carriep63

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Hey Dooper, these beans are awesome! I needed a quick stove top "baked" bean and these fit the bill. Great flavor, nice smoky taste from the bacon. I'll fix these again when I want a fast stove top bean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
These were the best baked beans I have made.I made them for my brother's home coming party.Everyone loved them.Did not follow the recipe all the way. I put everything into a dish & cooked it all at one time.I added everything to taste( mustard & ket)Even my 3yr ate them.Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
A favorite with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States