Baked Beans I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
Great! I made this for 4th of July. Had 16 people for dinner. Everyone keep saying the beans are great. Used Bush's Orig. baked beans. Followed recipe but added some crisp cooked bacon. Also baked in the oven at 250 for hours, made the house smell great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This recipe was a winner at Easter supper. I did change things slightly, I did this strictly stove top. I took 3 cans of ranch style beans, then added a cup and a 1/2 of brown sugar. I did add the mustard and onion as previously mentioned. I forgot the Worcestershire but it was fine with out. Did add the beans for the last hours of simmering and it was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINGMING

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
My grandmother made these but added some bacon to the top before baking 1TSB mustard and 1/2 cup chopped onion. One of my favorite childhood memories is how the smell of these beans would fill the house and by dinner time we were starving. They taste like home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
Very easy way to make a can of beans something wonderful. I think the sugar should be reduced to 1/4 cup and it could use a little zing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Sheppard
Home Town: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
awesome recipe quick and simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Good and easy recipe. I added another 1/2 cup of barbecue sauce, a squirt of yellow mustard, one small chopped onion and placed 3 strips of bacon across the top. Delish! I started out with a can of Bush's Original Baked Beans so you know that this was sooo tasty! I put this in the oven for about 90 minutes. Yummylicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
This was delicious. I halved the recipe for the brown sugar, ketchup and Worcestershire sauce for a large can of beans. I also added 2 teaspoons of honey. It was plenty sweet and rich. It all went into the crockpot for a 4th of July BBQ. We enjoyed it. Next time I will add some cooked bacon and sauteed onion. Thank you very much, Margie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
LOVED IT! I made this for our Memorial Day picnic. I used Bush's baked beans and added twice the brown sugar. I also added about 2 tablespoons honey (molasses would also be good) as well as mustard. Instead of cooking for only an hour, I let them cook for 2 1/2. After taking out of the oven, I let them sit, covered, for another 30 mins. When dinnertime came they were perfect! All the juices that I was afraid I would have to drain cooked down as they cooled and the taste was incredible. Next time I think I'll make it in the slow cooker to save on energy, but these were, by far, the best baked beans I've ever had. Everyone loved them and I will be making these regularly from now on! Thanks so much for putting this recipe on here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
A good version of "dressed up" canned beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I enhance this recipe even more by using 1/2 pound thick sliced bacon, diced into 1/2 inch strips. When the bacon is rendered, I add 1 cup of minced onion. A bit less ketchup, less brown sugar but add mustard, a bit of honey and a can of tomato juice. Also two good hits of tabasco sauce. UNREAL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States