Baked Basil Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly. This was the first time i ever made homemade fries and I'm so glad I chose this recipe to use. The basil-Parmesan flavoring is excellent. I was worried that the basil would overpower all the other flavors on my plate, but it paired beautifully with them. In fact, I'm thinking about making them again and doubling the seasoning mixture, just to see how they come out. A word of caution: while these get flavor from a few different spices, there is no salt used in this recipe. As someone who is used to having salt on their french fries, at first I could taste that missing ingredient. I think if needed it could be added to the spice mixture for those who prefer a salty fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jemado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
A lot of work for not much flavor. Everything melted to the pan instead of the fries. I'm so glad I used foil on the bottom of the baking sheet before I put the fries on, otherwise I would have spent hours cleaning the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Learned a trick when roasting sliced potatoes and that is to soak the slices in a bowl of water for 10-15 minutes, drain the water, paper towel dry the slices, then season the slices and add olives oil. Roast and flip when half done. Awesome every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Easy fries, I did have to bake for an additional 15 minutes to get them to crisp. Not a bad taste, maybe need a little salt adding to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
These are really tasty fries, and a nice taste from the frozen ones in the grocery store. i think I'll cook them longer next time to get the crispiness that i prefer in my fries. Followed the recipe exactly and they were a delicious snack. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Great! Weren't really crispy bc I tossed them all together in a smaller dish. Flavors were excellent though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leelo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I actually got this recipe from a Taste of Home cookbook and have been making these fries for a long time. My family just LOVES them. My oven has a "convection" setting, so I always bake them on convection and they come out nice and crispy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WasntMeSB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cottage Grove, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
these were delicious and easy to make. My 4yr old normally hates fries, but she devoured these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I really liked this quick and easy recipe. My 2 year old ate them too, which is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I do something similiar with sweet potatoes, which is why I was eager to try this. Much better than I expected it be! I left the skins on and they got nice and crispy after broiling for a few minutes. Yummy! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States