Baked BBQ Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
The sauce is AMAZINGLY TASTY! Kids should LOVE the ketchup/brown sugar mixture BUT if you are a lover of spiciness (like I am! I LOVE hot sauce!) you are going to need to add some spice to it. As for the meat balls, it is a simple enough recipe to follow (took me 3 minutes to measure, mix and roll) but they do lack their own flavor identity. I would suggest choosing your own meat seasoning and adding it to the meat mixture before rolling into balls. This recipe is a good one and will be used again! Next time, I will add seasoning and vegetables to the meat mixture and add more SPICE to the sauce! ENJOY!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Tasty! I took these to my church community group and got several compliments and requests for the recipe. I made these on a baking sheet as directed and then moved them to a bowl to transport them, so a lot of the sauce ended up getting left behind. Since the flavor is really in the sauce I wonder if it would have been better just to have baked them in a couple of 9 x 13 dishes that I could have just taken with me. Still, very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah Smith Hall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valorie
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
So easy to make, and the nutmeg added a little kick. Baked in a 13 X 9 pan so I didn't lose any of the sauce.. My husband said they were "Really Good" and that's enough for me! Thank you for the recipe, Chris H.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Soo yummy..My hubby loved these..I added fresh garlic and basil,sea salt and cracked black pepper and crushed red pepper flakes (sweet and spicy).. to meatballs..and I made the homemade BBQ sauce,added 1 cup of Sweet Baby Rays BBQ sauce and a green pepper, chopped,baked..and served over rice..Next time, doing over mashed potatoes.. Super Moist and a great recipe..Thanks for sharing..Super easy and delish..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
If you add some red pepper flakes the flavors of the meatballs become really complex, both sweet and spicy at the same time. They come out really good and taste good with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This is close to a recipe that I have been using for a while now. Unfortunately I can't find that cook book at the moment. :( The only difference between that recipe and this one, is that instead of using 1/3 cup water (which is about 6 TBS), it calls for 3T water and 3T white vinegar. The vinegar definitely balances out the super sweet flavor of the sugar, and in my opinion tastes better; more tangy. Therefore I can only give this recipe 4 stars. Still good tho. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
These meatballs were great. Nice change from the regular Italian meatballs. I did double the sauce because I wanted enough to have over white rice. So good over rice. The sauce is quite sweet but my family likes that. If you aren't a fan of really sweet things then these may not be for you. I also misread the recipe and used ground ginger instead of nutmeg. Didn't matter because they were perfect. Definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Sauce was a bit too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Super easy and very tasty. The nutmeg adds a nice twist! My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
The original recipe looked like a fantastic guideline, but I'm given to altering recipes before I try them as presented. As it turns out I found my variation to be ridiculously good. I substituted Italian seasoned bread crumbs for the crackers, nixed the onions altogether since I am not an enthusiast, and added 1/2 cup of grated parmesan-romano cheese to the mixture. After rolling the meatballs and arranging them on the baking sheet I very lightly dusted the tops with just a skosh more cheese. I also felt that while the sauce was good I wanted something extra to spice it up. To achieve that I added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon and 1/4 teaspoon red cayenne pepper. For appetizer-sized portions, the amount of sauce this recipe makes is perfect. However, if you are looking for a slightly saucier dish I would recommend upping the sauce ingredients by at least 50%, as covering 20 meatballs made from 1 lb. of ground meat won't leave much extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Spaghetti and Meatballs Muffin Bites

Individual, party-ready spaghetti and meatballs bites.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States