Baked BBQ Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
Okay, after reading all the reviews and then working with the recipe to fit I found it…. BRUSH, BRUSH, BRUSH. Brush the BBQ sauce on the chicken I used 2 cups of flower. 1 cup of milk, ½ cup of water and 2 eggs. DO not use all that salt. I sprinkled some garlic salt in the wet mix and also some mesquite seasonings. I do not like pepper much but put a little in the wet mix. I put chopped garlic in the dry mix. I double dipped and fried. This is the key… Butter the bottom of a baking dish. Brush each strip both sides with BBQ sauce “generously”. Lay flat on the dish, not on top of each other. Bake the sauce into the strips. Then I put the broiler on and left them in there a little while. They came out crispy and tasty. Reminded me of the boneless chicken crisps at KFC. Served with crispy cheese baby green beans and macaroni. Big hit in my home, and I’m a pretty good cook my family is spoiled. And they loved this recipe will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Well, I had to try this. And GOOD LORD!!! Way way to much salt. Talk about an sodium overload. I will not be making this again per the ingredients. I looked at the reviews after I made this. And it was soo pungent with salt it was really not good. There was salt in the liquids and salt in the flour mixture, not to mention salt in the dry mesquite. Not to mention a bit to much pepper as well. I kept thinking, maybe I'm just thinking about this all wrong. Until I made the 1st batch and it was a total waste. The salt and pepper really was an over kill. I'm sorry. I made a 2nd batch and omited salt and pepper out of the liquid and reduced the water to 1/2 cup and increased the milk to 3/4 cup. On the flour mixture I decreased the salt to a couple of tablespoons. And left everything else the same. If your going to self-rising flour....totally omit all salt out of this recipe. Will not be making this recipe ever again. I'm sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
These were really good! I used 1-1/2 lbs. chicken tenders a little more money ,but worth it! I cut down flour to 2 cups and used 1 egg and scaled down the rest of the ingredients. I think I used too much salt. One tablesoon in egg mix and about 1/8 cup in flour. I will cut that back next time. I didn't use smoke flavoring. I fried in 12 inch skillet with about 1/4 cup oil. They came out crispy and tender. I will make again!Thanks Jenny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
This was SO good! My family said BETTER than KFC boneless honey bbq wings/strips :) I highly recommend using the mesquite seasoning....the flavor was excellent. I also used seasoning salt and garlic pepper. I used Sweet Baby Ray's original sauce, which is a very thick sauce, and poured it into a small bowl. I dipped each fried strip into sauce, placed on my big (greased) cookie sheet and baked at 350 for 10 -15 minutes. PERFECT! Still crunchy and the sauce was carmelized :) YUM! We did leave a few without sauce for my youngest...they were excellent too. Will make again and again! My family can't thank you enough for this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
I really liked this recipe. I've cooked it with the bbq sauce and without. It is really important not to crowd the strips while frying or the chicken gets soggy. I liked the mesquite flavoring but I liked cajun seasoning better. I made these and packed for a picnic. Also brought along some bleu cheese dressing for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and loved it! We used our favorite sauce and it turned out just like one of our favorite resturant's! Looks like we'll be saving a ton of money in the future....lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
We weren't terribly crazy about this as written. The mesquite seasoning was definitely unappealing to me...just added a very strong artificial tasting, smoky flavoring that I will surely omit completely should I attempt this recipe again. We used less flour and salt because we had less chicken. The chicken turned out pretty soggy following the recipe, so I'd also modify the way it's fried / baked should I do it again. Perhaps just baking it instead of frying in oil. Would be decent if it turned out crispier and without using any of the mesquite seasoning whatsoever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
My husband and I like this recipe we've only tried it once but we will try it again this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet2th

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
My husband looooooved this recipe. He's never complimented any dish as much as this one... and i've made some fabulous food :/ This is definately guy food. I halved the flour and more than halved the salt & pepper. The mesquite seasoning definately made a difference, but I halved that as well. The outcome will depend a lot on the BBQ sauce you use. I used Sweet Baby Ray's and added brown sugar to it. I also blotted the grease from the chicken and brushed the sauce on.... all per other reviews! I enjoyed this and, per my husband's instructions, will definately be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This was so delicious. My husband is a big fan of KFC's bbq chicken and this is a close second. We used Jack Daniel's BBQ sauce, and it was fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States