Baked BBQ Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Seasoned my chicken with my usual seasonings and added those to my egg and flour .. then used honey bbq sauce, my god..it was almost if not better than kfc!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mary Esther, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
OH MY GOSH my family LOVES the chicken! It's a bit time consuming, but well worth it. I usually don't even have time to put the sauce on them and put them in the oven as my family waits in the kitchen and eats them when I'm done frying them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I thought this recipe was easy and it tasted great. I dipped my chicken in the egg mix then the flour mix and let it sit for a few minutes. Then I dipped it again and let it sit a few more minutes before cooking them. The coating stayed on and was crispy. I then brushed the sauce on both sides and baked it. They were awesome. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Made this last night when my brother and his family came for dinner. I didn't use near the salt that was called for. Also I am allergic to wheat gluten, so I used 1 cup corn starch, 1 cup potato flour, and 1 cup white rice flour, with about a Tablespoon baking powder and about a teaspoon of guar gum as well as all of the other spices called for. I can't imagine needing 6 cups of flour. As it was I ended up with 3 cups to start with and ended up throwing a small amount (about 1/2 cup) out when finished. We ended up coating only about 1/2 of the chicken with BBQ sauce. I followed other reviewer's suggestions and only brushed the BBQ sauce on. We use Head Country BBQ sauce which is easily found in OKC. Everyone loved this. I am only rating 4 stars because as written I think there is WAY too much salt called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTCLAIR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Super! I altered a few things, like alot of people did- lower the salt, and did not need as much flour mix. Now, the key- to NOT having soggy chicken- is to use a BBQ sauce with a higher sugar content. Reason being, that the carmelization cannot occur without the sugar. I use Rosie's of Vermont Maple BBQ sauce. Of course, you can add some Brown sugar to your BBQ sauce. Also, after the chicken has been fried, set it aside on paper towel to absorb the oil. Next, fill up a measuring cup or small deep bowl with the BBQ sauce, and just dip each strip or breast into the BBQ sauce. And another IMPORTANT thing, is BUTTER the pan rather generously- then place the strips in the pan and bake. You can broil a bit if you like, but this way, they should come out more like the KFC chicken. VERY good food! Kids love it, and YES the BBQ sauce makes a BIG difference. Some BBQ sauce is too smoky or too spicy or too tangy. Generally kids like 'sweet things' so using this suggestion should help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
This was SO good! My family said BETTER than KFC boneless honey bbq wings/strips :) I highly recommend using the mesquite seasoning....the flavor was excellent. I also used seasoning salt and garlic pepper. I used Sweet Baby Ray's original sauce, which is a very thick sauce, and poured it into a small bowl. I dipped each fried strip into sauce, placed on my big (greased) cookie sheet and baked at 350 for 10 -15 minutes. PERFECT! Still crunchy and the sauce was carmelized :) YUM! We did leave a few without sauce for my youngest...they were excellent too. Will make again and again! My family can't thank you enough for this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
LOVED IT!! I can't believe how good this is! I didn't have any mesquite seasoning so I used paprika instead, it was great! This was so easy to prepare, and quick! I did have to cook it longer and did as others suggested and broiled it at the end for a few minutes. I'll be making this again and again! Thanks to whoever posted this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I made two batches, one with the BBQ and one without the BBQ. We all liked without the best. I did brush the BBQ on the chicken (both sides)to just give it a lite coat. It might have been the BBQ sauce I used that my kids didn't like. Use a BBQ sauce that you know everyone will like. I will try it again with a different sauce. I will do the double batch again just incase.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bargersville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This was a great recipe. I am a novice in the kitchen but I found this recipe particularly simple. The chicken tasted great after the barbeque sauce was baked on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Surprisingly good! I agree that they are remniscent of KFC's bbq boneless chicken wings. I also agree that it's a shame they got a little soggy. Anyway, Husband enjoyed these. I would make these again as we both love 1. chicken 2. Montgomery Inn BBQ Sauce. I would probably add some sliced bell peppers to the dish too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States