Baked BBQ Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mackinnon521
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Ok so pic is not the best, my daughters plate. I used 2 cups of flour but could have done with alittle more towards the end, 2 eggs, 3/4 milk and 1/2 cup water. Subbed the mesquite with a spicy Cajun seasoning because I couldn't find mesquite. I also like the other did not use the salt advices in the recipe and I scaled it way do to about 1tsp in the flour. You really need to make sure the batter is crispy as it gets soggy in the oven, I also increased the oven temp as 300 was not enough to really make the BBQ sauce Carmelite and keep chicken crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as written. If you have to adjust for serving size-don't guess. Use the calculator here to help. I'm not crazy about salt, but I didn't find this recipe overly salty when made as is. I was out if BBQ sauce so I improvised and made my own from tomato soup, brown sugar, Worcestershire sauce, and spices. It was awesome! My honey loved this recipe and he isn't crazy about the breading on fried chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
So good! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Whole family loves this recipe! Only thing I did differently was leave out the 1/4 cup salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Pretty good, served during a football game. I don't think the butter is necessary; I skipped that, just spread sauce on bottom of cookie sheet and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I fried it, but didn't bake it, and it was wonderful!! Everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Very good. Tip: if you use a dry mesquite flavored seasoning mix packet (or any pre-mix store bought) BE CAREFUL not to add salt too. There is usually salt in these mixes and we didn't realize and it came out too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVProBeauty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
The most unhealthy yet delicious thing in the world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Stockman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
FOLLOW RECIPE TO THE TEE. IT WAS TOO SALTY. NEXT TIME I WILL USE 1/2 RECOMMENDED SALT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I modified the batter by eliminating the chopped garlic and mesquite seasoning. I replaced that with a mixture of Chef Paul Prudhomme's magic bbq seasoning, onion powder and garlic powder. I also cut the entire recipe in half and used about 1/3 of the salt. It was very tasty, however, I'm thinking the oven temp may have needed to be higher and cook for less time- the batter got a little mushy when left in the oven for 15 minutes. They tasted great, but the ones I left naked were even better! Great base recipe, and I will be experimenting with a few different sauce ideas. I served this with roasted garlic mashed potatoes, fresh string beans, and buttermilk biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States