Baked Asparagus with Balsamic Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
i have made this recipe on many occasions, since first seeing it in Cooking Light magazine. I would suggest watching the asparagus carefully, as it goes to tender crisp to crisp quickly. also, i sprinkle the asparagus with kosher salt prior to placing it to roast. finally, the original recipe called for brown butter(melted til it is browned lightly), which is important, i think, for the overall taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
I use this recipe all the time, and everyone who tries it really likes it. The asparagus comes out perfectly crisp-tender, and it is so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
Really nice..Will serve to guests and ourselves again and again. I used Kosher salt like others recommended:>)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biddeford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I've been making asparagus this way for the past couple of years. I discovered the recipe in an issue of Cooking Light magazine (the only difference is in Cooking Light they use kosher salt and omit the pepper, as I recall) and it is OUTSTANDING! I've made this in my toaster oven (much better results than in a full-sized oven) for everyone who comes over to eat and they are always impressed. It's absolutely THE simplist, best-tasting recipe for asparagus you'll find. The trick, and this is an important note, is to slightly burn the butter (never use margarine) before adding the vinegar and soy. Unbelieveable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
592 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
This recipe is just like the Cooking Light recipe I have, but it uses Kosher salt. Make sure you use a quality aged balsamic vinegar and let the butter start to brown for the best taste. It truly makes all the difference in the world. I have never added pepper, but often add a little garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
This recipe is just like the Cooking Light recipe. It is fantastic. Be sure to brown the butter though - it gives it a nutty flavor. Who ever would have thought to bake asparagus? You'll never boil it again after eating it this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Yes, I'll keep this one. Better than steaming and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Instead of using the cooking spray, I drizzled about 2 tablespoons olive oil over the asparagus (otherwise followed recipe exactly, allowing the butter to brown slightly as others suggested.) Hubby and I loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
This was sooooo good! The flavor of the sauce went perfectly with the asparagus. I steamed the asparagus in the microwave instead of baking it (because we were short of time) and then poured the thickened sauce over it. We loved the sauce so much we also used it to dip our rosemary potatoes in. Next time I will try baking it, and I'm sure it will be fabulous that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMRAKAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
This was a great tasting way to cook asparagus, simply scruptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Asparagus with Balsamic Butter Sauce

See how to make a top-rated asparagus side dish.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States