Baked Apricot Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I cook at Abba's Tables, our local soup kitchen - or as we refer to it - "The Lord's Free Restaurant." We try to provide our guests with a pleasant bistro-type atmosphere - a pleasant hour in the day that they would not otherwise have. I first made this recipe for 100 guests on New Year's eve, serving it with Basmati almond rice, sweet peas, tossed salad with cake and ice cream for dessert. Because we are always trying to stretch our meals, we used boneless, skinless chicken breasts. We chopped the chicken into pieces and boiled them, using only enough water to cover the chicken - if you use too much water you can end up leaving the chicken tasteless. Into the cooking water I place lots of quartered onions, lots of green pepper slices, a big handful of peppercorns, 6 bay leaves, about 1/3 of a cup of squished garlic and 1/2 can of chicken flavor base. After the chicken is cooked, you remove it from the broth being sure to remove peppercorns and bay leaves. Place the chicken into another pot. Now stir in the sauce made of the apricot preserves, the Lipton Onion Mix and I use Catalina Dressing. Keep it warm till ready to serve. In the meantime, I garamelize a gallon full of chopped onions with white sugar and a pound of butter and white pepper. After cooking (in Chicken broth) the potatoes I intend to use, I add the caramelized onions and a quart of heavy whipping cream, and about three pounds of shredded cheddar cheese mixed with Monterey jack cheese. This plates pretty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Made this using farmhouse originals pomagranate viniagrette instead of french dressing - awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I was worried this recipe would be too salty with the dressing and onion soup mix, but it turned out great! I served it over white rice, and my family seemed to really like it. I used Catalina french dressing to give it a little extra flavor. I like that I can throw it together in 5 minutes, then spend 45 minutes or so with my family before throwing together the rice and vegis (or, in other words, I don't spend an hour+ cooking on a weeknight). Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I went to get the ingredients for this recipe at the store, and when I got home I realized that I had forgotten the onion soup mix. OOps. So, instead, I used crushed red peppers just to give a little heat. NOT A LOT. It was really good. I would cook the chicken for an hour and a half to get the chicken more tender. I will cook it again with the onion soup mix next time and see how that goes. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
We have had this recipe for a long time thanks to my Aunt Ginny. The only thing different is that we serve it with rice and after the chicken is cooked, take the chicken out of the pan and thicken with a little bit of corn starch /milk. Everyone likes the sauce on the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Great recipe, made better by tossing the thighs in seasoned flour (your choice: cayenne, chili powder, cumin, curry, paprika, tumeric--whatever)... Heat oil in a frying pan, brown & render the thighs... then follow the recipe as written -- or julienne onion & bell pepper, lay it on top of the chicken in the baking dish, pour the sauce (love the catalina) over the whole deal, (saving 1/4cup) ... Cook covered for an hour ... uncover pour over remaining sauce ... broil for 5-10 min... mmmmm... serve w/ couscous...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I was a little skeptical at first, but this turned out to be AMAZING. Thanks for the super simple, but so delicious, recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Darn tasty. I've used the same recipe for pork chops. Equally delicious on the other white meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Not great, but not awful. I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 402) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States