Baked Apricot Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I would rate this maybe 3 stars just for the ease, taste-wise I just didn't find it something I would make again. My husband rated it a solid 3 for taste and said it was pretty good, but on the bland side. He grew up eating really bland food so this may have been something he was used to. I don't know - it just wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Delicious Apricot Chicken!! I really enjoyed the flavor and tenderness of the chicken. I personally used boneless chicken in place of chicken thighs & I added some pineapple juice from a can, to give it that extra sweetness. Great Recipe!! Did not realize how well french dressing goes with apricot preserves. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
My mom cooked this for me for the first time years ago and I loved it, so I've been making it at least twice a month it since. We have always used pineapple preserves...so good! I also have used orange marmalade a few times when forced to go to a store that did not have pineapple preserves. Not as good as the pineapple, but very good. The chunks of pineapple in the preserves are what make it so good, so I plan on adding some fresh pineapple next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This is amazing and impressive for a dinner party and so easy. I didn't change a thing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I also used Italian dressing in place of the French dressing. I did not use a package of dry onion soup mix, as I was out. I did add cracked black pepper (to taste). This marinade/sauce has a subtle flavor that does not overpower the dish. I would say that it turned out very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
My review is for variations I made to this recipe based on ingredients I had on hand. Forgive me for tainting the review pool, but this is for cooks who make substitutions. I used thick chicken breasts (mistake) instead of thighs because I had them on hand. They turned out too dry. Maybe marinating them for a long time would have helped, or cutting them into strips like tenderloins. Also, I didn't have French dressing.. so I used what I had: a quarter cup of Italian and the rest of a raspberry vinaigrette. I didn't have apricot preserves so I used a jar of Orange Marmalade. The sauce smelled divine and tasted really good with my subsitutions, if only the chicken breasts didn't dry out. Don't do what I did unless you marinate for awhile or chop your chicken breasts into smaller pieces. In fairness to the original chef, I will make the recipe again as written and change my review at that time. I am hopeful it will be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Fabulous! I used Catalina dressing as another reviewer suggested. There weren't any leftovers. The recipe was super easy. Great dish for entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Driftwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Ray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
The crockpot worked great for this! I put the frozen solid boneless skinless thighs in with the sauce on low for 3.5 hrs and it was perfect. No knife needed. All my boys were upset there wasn't more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States