Baked Apricot Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
My mother's been making this a long time, except she does hers in the crockpot and just throws everything in which is even easier! I've been meaning to try it with chicken breast to cut down on the grease a bit, because that's the only negative about this recipe! So yummy...even the kids like it! She serves it over rice. (Now I'm hungry lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Goulart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This recipe was first published by a Taste of Home viewer in the Taste of Home cookbook Low Fat Country Cooking about 20 years ago. It used boneless and skinless breasts however. It is tasty and delicious. However, there is a lot of salt in the soup mix. So, I substitute dried onion flakes in place of the soup and it is just as good. I also sometimes use strawberry preserves in place of the apricot preserves and that works great too. I use Catalina salad dressing as that is better than the French dressing, although both are quite tasty. Yummmm....Once you try it you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Made this years ago with red Russian dressing. I think Catalina would be a great substitute! We used to call it Sticky Chicken in our family. A real favorite,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I've been making this for awhile and everyone loves it. I make it just the way the recipe is written and it comes out great everytime. No tweaking needed but I will try the other dressings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I've always made this using Russian Red dressing, which I prefer over the French dressing, but it's still simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I have made this for years. It is one of my favorites! I use the red or clear Russian (not the creamy Russian) dressing but I'm sure the French dressing would be delicious as well. I will be trying it soon with the french dressing. I bake some potatoes while the chicken is baking and put some of the sauce of my potato when I eat it - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
My kids (4 years and 16 months) and husband have absolutely LOVED this chicken since I started making it years ago. It also gets the kids eating broccoli (they dip it in the sauce or just pour the sauce directly on the broccoli). Catalina dressing is our absolute favorite version. I bake it uncovered the last 15-20 minutes to get the caramelized effect and slightly thicken the sauce. It makes wonderful leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I used apricot jam and Catalina with dry onion soup mix and it was delicious! I also took skin off the thighs and baked at 350 for 1 hr. Made it with the carrot rice also from this website and drizzled the chicken sauce over the rice... Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Used Catalina dressing as others suggested. Cooked for an hour and 20 minutes, flipping half way and basting. Served over some rice. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
New favorite in my house. Didn't have soup mix so I supplemented with 1/2 tsp beef boullion, 1 Tbsp dried minced onion, and 3 deep dashes with the onion powder bottle. Also used homemade apricot preserves and served with a mixture of 'forbidden' rice/white rice and random colorful veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Tender Baked Chicken Thighs

See how to roast chicken until crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States