Baked Apricot Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
OK, so I don't know why I am different than everyone else but I had some problems with this dish. This is not a recipe where you just pour on the sauce and walk away. I checked mine after about 10 minutes of cooking and all the sauce had slid off the thighs and was burning, because of all the sugar, onto the baking dish. Thank goodness I had lined the pan as a precaution but a novice cook may not have known to do that. I re basted and turned them several times during cooking until I finally thought some of the sauce was on the chicken, not just the pan. That being said with lots of tending the final product was moist and flavorful. I think this dish would be much better by first browning the thighs and then putting them in a crock pot. If you are using the oven, put them in the smallest possible dish so the sauce doesnt just run of the sides. Oh my gosh, DO NOT forget to line the pan with foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lathrup Village, Michigan, USA
Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
very easy recipe - served with white rice. my fussy parents loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosalind530

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Very good. I used peach preserves because I did not have apricot. I used Western dressing instead of French (again, it was what I had). I used a packet of Italian dressing and thinly sliced an onion and put on top of the chicken. Poured the mix over the chicken, I had 4 thighs and 3 breasts. Baked at 350 and about 35 mins into it I turned the chicken. At one hour I turned the broiler on low for the last 5 minutes. I asked my husband what he thought and he said to not change a thing. We will make it again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris K in Wisconsin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sauk City, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I loved this. I used Russian dressing and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Also yummy with pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
What a treat! I didn't have any apricot preserves so I drained a can of apricots, mashed them w/ a potato masher, added 1 cup sugar and 2 T. cornstarch mixed in 1 T. cold water. I brought that to a biol, stirring constantly, then simmered to finish thickening. Perfect preserves! I continued with the rest of the recipe as written except I used Catalina salad dressing as suggested by other reviewers. I served this with red rice and strawberry and feta salad from this site. The next day I rolled the leftovers in Drakes fish batter and deep fried. It was 'finger-lickin' -good!'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keokuk, Iowa, USA
Living In: Petoskey, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Amazing chicken!! Thought the ingredient mix a little strange but tried it because of the good reviews. So glad I did! Used the recipe mostly as is, only used half the onion soup mix (another reviewer said too oniony with the whole thing) and added a splash of sweet red chili sauce. Sprinkled the chicken lightly with seasoning salt and granulated garlic before pouring the sauce over. Absolutely delicious!! Served with rice, steamed veggies and a green salad. Will most definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Didn't have enough flavor for us. Salt, pepper, and garlic powder before sauce probably would add a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woodfairie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This was wonderful, so juicy, full of flavor and super easy. I will definitely be putting this in heavy rotation. If I hadn't altered the recipe I would give this 5 stars. (I used four boneless, skinless chicken breasts and Italian dressing because I hate French and Catalina dressing!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BK
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This was awesome and super easy! I thought I had apricot preserves, but I guess it was orange marmalade - but it worked out great, and I think it's pretty similar. Others said that they used Catalina or Italian dressing -- but I went with French, as the recipe calls for (the 'sweet and spicy' kind) and it worked out great. I used proportions as directed and used chicken thighs. It was a hit and I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BK

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 111-120 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States