Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
I'm giving this 4 stars because I felt that I had to change so much of it after reading many other reviews. However, I think I have got some really great alterations. Fill the bottom of the pan with enough water to cover, mix in about a Tbsp. of cornstarch, a tsp. and a half of vanilla, and a small handful of chopped nuts. (Almonds, walnuts, or pecans.) Core apples all the way through (I used Jonathan apples) and peel a thin ring of skin off around the middle of each apple so they can "breathe". Stuff apples with the brown sugar and butter premixed, and place apples in water mixture. Sprinkle apples and water with nutmeg and a generous (but not overpowering) amount of cinnamon. Bake at 350 for 20 min. covered with foil and then for another 10 min. uncovered. Finally, serve in bowl with the caramel/nut sauce around base of each apple. Vanilla ice cream in the center drizzled with caramel ice cream topping is another incredible addition to them. I hope this helps but after these alterations, the recipe was to die for. Seriously, just skip to these suggestions and you'll have the perfect recipe. I'm not usually this confident, but with this, I can't help it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1070 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
I love making these. I was in a hurry, so I just popped ours in the microwave for about 5 minutes and I also added raisins. They turned out so good, and the smell alone is enough to make your mouth water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
418 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
Great baked apples! Very simple and delicious. Some people mentioned having to put a little bit of water in the bottom of the pan, I used apple juice. I also had to bake them longer. These are WONDERFUL topped with a dollup of creme fraiche! A great end to a fall meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
342 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
My family loved these baked apples. We also prefer them on the soft side, so I baked them for 30+ minutes. I cut down on the butter and sugar and still found them delicious. What a nice, simple, wholesome dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
I do these German style, called "Bratapfel": stuff the apples with walnuts (or other nuts), candied ginger, honey, a bit of lemon juice, orange peel, cinnamon and a tiny bit of rum (if you like). Then bake them for 30 to 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
Scale down the butter to a teaspoon, and cook for atleast another 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
I only gave this recipe a three because after 15-20 minutes, the apples were still barely soft and I like mine kind of mushy which REALLY detracted from the potential of a baked apple. Also, after reading other people's suggestions to this recipe I used some of their hints; I microwaved the brown sugar & butter then put it in the apple centers & added water at the bottom of the pan which made a weird & very watery (not syrupy) concoction & raisins. I'll definately try the recipe again but won't microwave the b. sugar & butter first & I'd bake it a lot longer. Will let you know how it turns out. :-) Oh oh oh, also, I added 10+ raisins that had been soaked in the middle of the apple as well and those were yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAIR_LADY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
My family really enjoyed these apples. I aded some chopped pecans before baking for a little extra crunch. Next time I will cut down on the butter and add a little more cinnamon. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
Delicious!!. But next time,I'll cut the butter in half,to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAVILU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
Very good. I added chopped pecans as someone else suggested, and used a white sugar-cinnamon mix. Also found I needed to add some water to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States