Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Great! I did slice/core the apples before cooking but that was the only change I made. Topped with a spoonful of whipped cream! Whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I always bake these with no butter. Just sugar, cinnamon, and allspice in the well. I cover the apple in tin foil. You're left with the juices from the apple brewing in the core with crispy bits of cinnamon sugar in the flesh of the apple. The best way to eat an apple in my opinion :) The worst part, is that you have to wait for these to cool before you can dig in. But always worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
It was good but i changed alot... i used brown sugar and pumpkin pie spice as the filling. filled it half way put a small amount of butter inside then packed it the rest of the way. I then put a bit of butter on the top. For the pan i put in orange/pineapple juice with vanilla,little butter and a tbls of cornstarch to help it thicken...they turned out GREAT!! I also cut an inch of skin off around the entire apple...i did half cored all the way through and half not cored completely and they both tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Godd and easy, but definitely took longer than 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Great Apples Like Mom Made. I did make a few changes: I used Rome apples (best for this type baking) I peeled a little peel away from top of apple, I poured parkay buttery spray(fat-free)over top letting a bit flow over outside and inside apple. I put a spoonful of brown sugar into center, sprinkled with apple pie spice and then poured about a tablespoon of honey over each apple. I baked at 350 for 20 minutes. Take out of over and using turkey baster pick up juice and pour over the apples filling the hole. I baked for another 15 minutes and basted with juices again. I put them into oven for the last 15 minutes and baste again when they came out of the oven. The juice gets a bit thicker each time and when cooled...so keep basting. They look pretty and taste GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Gail

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
My boyfriend loves apples in any form, and he really enjoyed this recipe. I used two very large Fuji apples for this recipe (which cored easily), and poked holes all through the apple with a sharp knife before filling them with the butter and sugar mixture. I sprinkled a bit of cinnamon on top. I had to adjust the baking time to 45 minutes due to the size of the apples, but they turned out wonderfully as-is. Next time I might use a little less butter, and hopefully I'll have some vanilla ice cream on hand :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarkerSolace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
So Yummy.... This will make a great replacement for apple pie. However, a full apple was a little to much for me so I cut it in half and shared it with a friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I love baked apples but this recipe just didn't work for us. We followed the recipe exactly as written but the filling ended up just a watery mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I had to cook them 30 minutes (not 15), and like someone previously stated: the dish doesn't look pretty when done, but the flavor was REALLY good. I had added water to the bottom of the dish, and that helped "soften" the skins. I think I will make these again, but next time I'll actually cut the apples in half, then make a well in the center to fill with the sugar/butter mix...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa
Living In: Boyertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
The apples were still very crunchy after 15 minutes in the oven. I needed to put them back in the oven for another 10 minutes to get the desired effect of a baked apple. Otherwise, they didi taste very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States