Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was ok it was a little runny and I was looking for something thicker It had good taste, just not what I was looking for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
use hint recipe. water in pan 2 t cornstarch and vanilla.make a peel slice around apple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Family loved this! My Changes: I skined and sliced the apples. I mixed apple juice, cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla extract and covered the bottom of the pan with it. I made 'Crumb Topping for Pies' recipe from this site and put it on top of the apples to give it texture. Baked it for 20 minutes and it was done. I think the slicing of the apples made a difference in the bake. This taste just like apple crisp with the topping on it. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I cored out the middle of the apple from the top and left the bottom of the apple intact so that when I cut the apple open from the top, the apple fell open while still being connected and created a very fancy presentation. I also cooked it for 30 min. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyful81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Love baked apples - these need to cook a little longer. My favourite filling is mincemeat (even if it isn't Xmas). No extra sugar or butter added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I had to alter my recipe, instead of brown sugar I used Sugar in the Raw and pumpkin pie spice and added some cinnamon (since it's cheaper) but I didn't have Nutmeg which is why I used the other spice. The water in the bottom of the pan was a great idea since I drizzled that liquid on top of the apples after they were done. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This is a great recipe! I use Granny Smith apples (peeled & sliced) and after filling core I wrap apple with Filo dough before baking! Really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This recipe brought back memories of baked apples simmering on my grandmother's stove. That smell was so comforting and sent such a wonderful aroma throughout the kitchen. Not only were they good back then but this recipe proved just as tasty. I think the slow cooking on the stove was the key to the aroma filling the kitchen, which the short time cook in the microwave couldn't duplicate. However, the taste was great and brought back many memories. It was easy and quick. I did add the chopped walnuts and thought that was a great suggestion and cooked one Fuji apple in a covered container for 4 minutes and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This recipe worked out very well, and was delicious. Instead of leaving the apples whole, I sliced them, tossed them with other ingredients. That way it only took the 15 min cooking time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Very yummy flavor. I halve the apples to make it easier. Easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States