Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This is a really simple, yummy recipe. I served them with honey lavender ice cream and they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Great classic recipe for fall. I tried this recipe and the one that was given by another member, needless to say this one is prefered. No revisions necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meighan_d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Not really feeling this recipe too much. For one definitely has the wrong cooking times and for two it was kind of boring I even added cloves and nutmeg and still it needed more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veedubgrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I thought the bake time was perfect, but they were on the firm side (just like I like them). I also tried these with granola and they were delicious. They could have used a little more moisture like water or apple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Really good.....Quick fix when you don't have the time to make a pie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Great recipe! I loved making these apples, so simple and delicious. Filled the whole house with the scent of homemade apple pie. Next time I will add walnuts and raisins...yum! Didn't need to add water btw, just baked in a pyrex dish for about 40 mins. and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Loved it! I used 2 gala apples and 2 golden delicious. They were both very good. I found it easier to melt the butter, mix it with the brown sugar and then stuff into the apples. I did add a small amount of water to the bottom of the pan as others suggested. Not sure if it helped or not. I would also recommend baking for 25-30 minutes. I served as a side dish to roasted chicken. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Wonderful, with some changes...I peeled the top half of the apple, stuffed the apples with butter and a few raisins. Then I sprinkled each apple generously with cinnamon, brown sugar and chopped walnuts. And for the bottom of the dish I put 2 T water, 1 T pure vanilla extract, and 2 T Dark Rum. Not only were they delicous, but the house smelled heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I, too, found that my apples were not tender after only fifteen minutes. I had to double the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I didn't like this much. I had some extra green apples so I tried making this. However, I don't know if I can rate this fairly b/c I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I cut the apples in half and put slits in them, then sprinkled the butter, brown sugar, and cinammon on top. It wasn't bad but I won't be making it again. I don't even want to eat the leftovers. I don't think the cook time was nearly enough...my apples were still a bit raw after 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States