Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Made it as written - although I had to double the cooking time in my oven so it would have a soft consistency - and my apples were delicious! I gobbled them right up and will definitely make this easy recipe again, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
REALLY good - but agree with others - it needs to bake longer. I used Courtland & baked for 40 minutes @ 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Made these this evening & everyone loved them. The only thing I changed was reducing the amount of butter to closer to a tsp per apple. I mixed the brown sugar & butter before filling the apples, added a small amount of water to the bottom of the pan & baked approximately 25 minutes (6 apples). Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I lighted up on the butter to keep it healthy. .... Served with on top of baked pork chops sprinkled with a bit sea salt and ground pepper and a green veggie. Simple yet Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Okay, guys, be prepared! I have a long list of additions and substitutions for this recipe! It's a good traditional recipe that you can't go wrong with, but these additions make it a whole lot better! 1) Coat the bottom of your pan with a little bit of water, about 1 Tablespoon cornstarch, and 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla. 2) Core your apples all the way, and stick a prune in the bottom. (it may sound gross, but it's really healthy and tastes really good with the apple.) 3) push some chopped walnuts down the middle of your apples. 4) Mix the butter and the brown sugar together first, and then fill up the spaces in the middle of your apples and spread it on the sides. With all these corrections, this is my go-to recipe for apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This was great, and my almost 2 year old loved it too. I made exactly as recipe was written(approximately--I am an estimator, not an exact measurer!), except I microwaved it for 5 minutes per another reviewers suggestion (I had ribs going in the oven so needed another option). This was quick, easy, and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This recipe is very similar to how my mother used to make it! I used Granny Smith apples and the ingredients as written. I did however add an extra 10 minutes to the cooking time because I like a softer apple. A great treat is pouring cream in the bottom of the bowl when serving. I read other reviews about coring all the way through and I must disagree as this steams from the outside instead of cooking from the inside and provides a different texture than I was looking for at least. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This is a good and easy dessert recipe. I had added a splash of lemon juice to each apple to add little balance. To make it more fun, each apple was stuffed with raisins and sprinkled with a little nutmeg. Delicious! Also, keeping the skin on the apples really helps seal in those juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This recipe called for tart green apples. the oncs I use the skin was so tough that the apples did not bake good next time I will us Mac apples
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States