Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I wasn't very pleased with the way the apples came out at all. The skin was tough & the apples weren't very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Very good. Also good if you peel and slice apples. Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
A yummy and easy recipe. The baking time is not long enough. The apples were hard and needed to bake another 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
just okay - the butter separated out and made it taste sortof greasy, and 15 minutes was not nearly enough baking time... i added some fresh nutmeg for more of an 'apple pie' flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Others are right--THE COOKING TIME MUST BE LONGER. The "BC" cookbook, with a similar recipe, suggests 45 minutes at 375 degrees. I followed the instructions of this recipe and the apples were nearly as firm as when the went in the oven. The butter-brown sugar-cinnamon mix was good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by youattal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This was really delicious. I made cinnamon sugar to fill the apple. Also I used an apple called a "Grapel" which is supposed to be the texture of an apple but taste like a grape. It was really just a sweeter apple. When I baked this I sprinkled the bottom of the glass dish with cinnamon sugar, added water to cover the bottom and then put a couple pats of butter beneath the apples in addition to the butter in the apple. It came out great. Next time I think that I will use some crushed walnuts, almonds, or pecans as well. Thanks so much for the recipe. Easy to make, wonderfully fragrant and exquisitely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This recipe is so simple and delicious! It makes your whole kitchen smell great too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
I used this recipe as a spingboard. I substituted oil for the butter, and cut the quantity in half, and I added dark raisins and ground walnuts to the filling. Then, I baked it for forty minutes. With the changes, it make a simple, tasty dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Very good, although I did have to adjust baking time. Next time I will use a little more brown sugar. I also poured enough fresh apple cider to cover the bottom of the baking dish. My husband was very pleased with them. Its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
It was slightly buttery- but I don't have measuring spoons, so that may have been my fault! I usually make it with oats, but didn't have any- this was equally delicious! I will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States