Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Others are right--THE COOKING TIME MUST BE LONGER. The "BC" cookbook, with a similar recipe, suggests 45 minutes at 375 degrees. I followed the instructions of this recipe and the apples were nearly as firm as when the went in the oven. The butter-brown sugar-cinnamon mix was good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by youattal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This was really delicious. I made cinnamon sugar to fill the apple. Also I used an apple called a "Grapel" which is supposed to be the texture of an apple but taste like a grape. It was really just a sweeter apple. When I baked this I sprinkled the bottom of the glass dish with cinnamon sugar, added water to cover the bottom and then put a couple pats of butter beneath the apples in addition to the butter in the apple. It came out great. Next time I think that I will use some crushed walnuts, almonds, or pecans as well. Thanks so much for the recipe. Easy to make, wonderfully fragrant and exquisitely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This recipe is so simple and delicious! It makes your whole kitchen smell great too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
I used this recipe as a spingboard. I substituted oil for the butter, and cut the quantity in half, and I added dark raisins and ground walnuts to the filling. Then, I baked it for forty minutes. With the changes, it make a simple, tasty dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Very good, although I did have to adjust baking time. Next time I will use a little more brown sugar. I also poured enough fresh apple cider to cover the bottom of the baking dish. My husband was very pleased with them. Its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
It was slightly buttery- but I don't have measuring spoons, so that may have been my fault! I usually make it with oats, but didn't have any- this was equally delicious! I will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
This was easy and tasted good. I did have some trouble serving it to my two young children (maybe I didn't hollow out the apples enough??). Like some of the others said, I would rather just cut up the apples before baking--not as pretty, but easier to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rib Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Honestly, we thought these were better the next day out of the refrigerator. I used green apples and sliced them pretty thin. Just watch the baking time so you don’t end up with crunchy apples. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
My grandma used to make these when I was a kid, and she used cooking apples. I haven't seen cooking apples here, so I used Granny Smiths. I made them according to the recipe, and while they tasted good, I prefered my grandma's method of preparation which was to just slice up the apples, put them in a baking dish, and top with the butter and sugar. We would have them with warm custard. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
So quick and easy! The apples need to be baked much longer: at least 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium

Displaying results 101-110 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States