Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Very good, although I did have to adjust baking time. Next time I will use a little more brown sugar. I also poured enough fresh apple cider to cover the bottom of the baking dish. My husband was very pleased with them. Its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
It was slightly buttery- but I don't have measuring spoons, so that may have been my fault! I usually make it with oats, but didn't have any- this was equally delicious! I will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
This was easy and tasted good. I did have some trouble serving it to my two young children (maybe I didn't hollow out the apples enough??). Like some of the others said, I would rather just cut up the apples before baking--not as pretty, but easier to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rib Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Honestly, we thought these were better the next day out of the refrigerator. I used green apples and sliced them pretty thin. Just watch the baking time so you don’t end up with crunchy apples. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
My grandma used to make these when I was a kid, and she used cooking apples. I haven't seen cooking apples here, so I used Granny Smiths. I made them according to the recipe, and while they tasted good, I prefered my grandma's method of preparation which was to just slice up the apples, put them in a baking dish, and top with the butter and sugar. We would have them with warm custard. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
So quick and easy! The apples need to be baked much longer: at least 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
These are easy to make and taste okay but the cooking time is way off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
The flavor was great, but they definitely needed to cook longer. I'd say at least an hour or more. I like my apples to where they cut with a fork/spoon. I needed a knife for these. I'll make them again, and let them bake for about 85mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
This was an easy and delicious recipe! I might suggest cooking it longer because I like my baked apples just a little softer, but despite that it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Missouri, USA
Living In: Warrensburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
This was great. We made a few changes. We sliced the apples in half and then cored them with a melon baller. We buttered the pan, but we're not sure if we needed to. We used red Braeburn apples, and we cooked it for 40 minutes. It was really good that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States