Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I love baked apples but this recipe just didn't work for us. We followed the recipe exactly as written but the filling ended up just a watery mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I had to cook them 30 minutes (not 15), and like someone previously stated: the dish doesn't look pretty when done, but the flavor was REALLY good. I had added water to the bottom of the dish, and that helped "soften" the skins. I think I will make these again, but next time I'll actually cut the apples in half, then make a well in the center to fill with the sugar/butter mix...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa
Living In: Boyertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
The apples were still very crunchy after 15 minutes in the oven. I needed to put them back in the oven for another 10 minutes to get the desired effect of a baked apple. Otherwise, they didi taste very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I took the other suggestions listed and put water in the bottom along with the part of the apples I cored out. It took 45" with foil over them to cook. I added pecans and raisins. There isn't enough filling for 4 apples, just 3. It isn't a pretty dish, but tastes really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I make these by cutting the apples in half, creating a well where the core was, and using splenda plus cinnamon and butter, definitely need to be baked at 350 for 30 minutes though. This is a really good low cal dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Great Recipe! I added a little nutmeg and walnuts, put apple juice in the bottom of the pan, and used braeburn apples. Yum! Served warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and some carmel topping. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
My Mom used to make these for me when I was growing up:) I just love them:) Thanks for sharing your recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Simple, delicious. Add a little Ceylon Cinnamon and it's perfect. Use a melon-ball scoop and it's as easy as 1-2-3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Monticello, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Really good... don't forget to add a little water in the bottom of the baking dish. These are a little hard to eat, though, and somewhat messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I wasn't very pleased with the way the apples came out at all. The skin was tough & the apples weren't very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States