Baked Apple Slices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I enjoyed this recipe. I made it almost exactly the way the recipe said, except that I doubled it and didn't put quite as much sugar, since it was for my 2 and 4 year olds. The cornstarch does thicken quite a bit, but I pulled it out and stirred the mix twice during cook time, so it didn't stick to bottom as one reviewer stated. I liked it, but might increase the water to cornstarch ratio, as it seemed a little powdery in the end. I think I might add a little honey and walnuts when I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This recipe is great! It is super easy and fun for the kids. TIP: when the apples are finished baking and you unstick the apples from the baking sheet, there is clear sticky stuff under the apple slice. That is the stuff that you want, that is the sugar and the sweetness of the apple. If you want your apples to be sweet make sure you eat that also. It is not going to hurt you, it is just the sugar that has been baked. Hope this helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I enjoyed it as is, and my husband liked it over ice-cream while it was still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
The apples were tasty!! I didn't use nearly as much sugar...I had more than ha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
one Tablespoon of corn starch to 2 1/2 Tablespoons of water does make wallpaper paste. I made it again with two apples, 5 tablespoons of water and a teaspoon of cornstarch, with a bit extra of cinnamon and 3 Tablespoons of honey. That made the sauce something to spoon over ice cream with the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I did this with two apples and sliced them down like you would for a pie. My toddler loves fruit, so I wanted to give her something a little sweet but still kinda healthy. I didn't change the amounts of sugar, water or cornstarch. I also added 1 tbsp of lemon juice and upped the baking time to 25 minutes (I didn't want the apples too mushy and that was just right). According to a nutrition calculator I use, this makes it around 45.5 calories for 6 servings (remember, I'm serving this to my toddler). All in all, this recipe was great. The only real change I made was using the lemon juice. If the baby doesn't like it, it is not the fault of the recipe! This tastes just like apple pie filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I tried this exactly as it states and it was good but the cornstarch and water was like a gummy sludge on the bottom of pan. Other than that the apples were very good. Not sure what the cornstarch and water was for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coleen Dorn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I really like this, i added some crushed/crumbled walnuts into it and is tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I love baked apples so I gave this a try to go along side pancakes for breakfast. I used two Granny Smith apples, brown sugar vs. white and upped the cinnamon a bit. I baked it longer than 15 minutes... and this can easily be done in the microwave if you're short on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This rarely happens, but this recipe was strange. It is a new recipe and baked apples sounded great! I thought the cornstarch was different but decided to give it a try. I am unsure of the purpose of the cornstarch because it was like eating apples in paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States