Baked Apple-Pecan Maple Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by momlovestocook
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This recipe is good and my family scarfed down the entire thing in no time, BUT next time I will definitely do two layers of apples since the thick layer of pancake did come out dry. Apples, batter, apples batter. I also tossed my apples in cinnamon before placing them in the dish, which gave it a more even color, I think. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momlovestocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
This was a great recipe! We all loved it. Even my 2yr old wanted more. So easy and little mess. This was a last minute dinner decision so I sub'd buttermilk for half the milk. used walnuts instead of pecans. dbl'd the cinnamon and baked for 25min. I also put the butter in my pie plate, placed it in the oven while it preheated - that melted the butter just in time for me to add the other ingredients. plus, less mess. I will mix the apples, syrup and cinn. together first next time though. I can't wait to try this with other fruits and nuts. Seemed more like we had dessert first... no wonder the kids liked it so much :0) ooh, put it in a bowl and drizzle with a little extra syrup and some cream... MMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
I used 2 entire Granny Smith apples, added a little Craisins, left out the pecans (we don't like nuts), and it was yummy. We also used real maple syrup which makes a big difference (not as sweet as Aunt Jemima). Easy to assemble and delicious. Impressive enough for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Not bad. I feel as if it's missing an ingredient, but now that I've realized I missed the boat on the maple syrup (don't have any--was going to add maple flavoring but forgot) I suppose that could be it. I do think, however, that a caramel bottom would be really good and add to the flavor--just add brown sugar on top of the melted butter like you would do for a pineapple upside down cake. I also added chopped apple and pumpkin pie spice to the pancake batter, which I liked. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
It cooked just fine though I think it needed more sweetness. Next time I may add some brown sugar to the apples. I used bisquick along with soy milk which I think gives any pancake a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I used my own whole wheat baking mix, lowfat butter milk and I added a half teaspoon of nutmeg. (When I make this next time, I might use apple pie spice instead of just cinnamon and nutmeg. I might do brown sugar instead of maple syrup, too.) When I could, I used all organic ingredients. This was very easy to make this morning, it literally took a matter of minutes. Using an apple peeler and apple sectioner made it go super fast. My kids really thought this was great. I like making these because it's quick, filling and when it's done, all you have to do it cool it a bit, then flip it out and cut it with a pizza cutter. Plus, it's kid friendly for beginning cooks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Dry. That is the way I felt about this recipe. I used 5 T. of syrup and baked 22 min. I used Bisquick for the mix...maybe a different pancake mix would help. The flavor was good but the texture was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2002
After reading all the reviews, I was ready for a delicious pancake breakfast. But my family and I thought that it was way too dry and have made way better pancake recipes. Wouldn't recommend making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
Oh my - These are to die for! I've made these for company several times now, and they always get RAVE reviews. They're best with plenty of pecans. :) And a good cup of coffee is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WarringEagle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Made this for dinner tonight and it was excellent! Easy and quick. I followed a tip from one of the reviewers to mix the cinnamon and maple to the apples which works really well. I mix the cinnamon and 2 tablespoons of maple syrup to the apples and then arrange them to the bottom of the pan. Used only 1 tablespoon of butter which is sufficient. Drizzled the final tablespoon of maple syrup after arranging the apples and sprinkle some all spice as well. Finally poured the pancake batter over the apples. Baked for 25 minutes and let it sit for another 5. It turned out perfect. Will definitely make this again and will try with other fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States