Baked Apple-Pecan Maple Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I made 2 versions. I made one just as stated in the original recipe. And the other, as mentioned in one of the reviews, I "layered." The original recipe was too dry for me, as other people also commented, so i topped it with more syrup. It was pretty good. The layered one (apples, half of the pancake mix, apples, the rest of the pancake mix) was great!!! It wasn't dry and it had a lot of flavor. I didn't need to add any extra syrup at the end either. I did also follow of few of the suggestions other people gave for both versions: I Sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on the apples before layering, I used walnuts instead of pecans, and I used more maple syrup than recipe asked. This recipe was easy, quick, and delicious! I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Made this for dinner tonight and it was excellent! Easy and quick. I followed a tip from one of the reviewers to mix the cinnamon and maple to the apples which works really well. I mix the cinnamon and 2 tablespoons of maple syrup to the apples and then arrange them to the bottom of the pan. Used only 1 tablespoon of butter which is sufficient. Drizzled the final tablespoon of maple syrup after arranging the apples and sprinkle some all spice as well. Finally poured the pancake batter over the apples. Baked for 25 minutes and let it sit for another 5. It turned out perfect. Will definitely make this again and will try with other fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I used two apples, and apple pie spices, also about a cup of raisns. I made this instead of toast, or biscuits. It's kind of like a mild coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Very dry. Better off just making regular pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momlovestocook
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This recipe is good and my family scarfed down the entire thing in no time, BUT next time I will definitely do two layers of apples since the thick layer of pancake did come out dry. Apples, batter, apples batter. I also tossed my apples in cinnamon before placing them in the dish, which gave it a more even color, I think. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momlovestocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Very tasty! My kids loved it! I did make a few changes based of other reviews, and will make more now that I have tried it once. I doubled the recipe, I do not used packaged mixes, I use the recipe from this site for Fluffy Pancakes with Wheat Germ and Applesauce. I had 2 cups of homemade mix premade so I used that. I whipped the eggs white seperately to add some fluff. I baked it in a cake pan with about double the apples and probably 4 tbps real maple syrup. I also used toasted pecans, 1/2 cup. I also used more milk than called for since some folks had said it was dry. I think, in my case, it felt dry because my mix fluffs so thick that the gooey goodness only gets on a small area of the cake. Next time I am going to put the apple layer in the bottom of the pan, pour 1/2 the batter on and then put another layer of apple mix on topping with the last of the batter. It looks marvelous out of the pan. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Not bad. I feel as if it's missing an ingredient, but now that I've realized I missed the boat on the maple syrup (don't have any--was going to add maple flavoring but forgot) I suppose that could be it. I do think, however, that a caramel bottom would be really good and add to the flavor--just add brown sugar on top of the melted butter like you would do for a pineapple upside down cake. I also added chopped apple and pumpkin pie spice to the pancake batter, which I liked. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
It's gets a 2 for being edible. I followed the directions exactly, and it came out really dry. Wouldn't recommend or make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Scrumdiddlyumcious! I don't know the spelling but i know this is fabulous. My husband and I stayed at the Blue Gull inn in Port Townsend,WA and this delicious treat was on the breakfast menu. The chef added blueberries as well...I would highly recommend it to all who. Perfect for brunch with friends and family or just enjoying it with the family on a weekend. I didn't think it was too dry. I didn't add syrup before eating it either like some would like. I enjoyed it the way it was. I asked for the recipie (which I figured was a secret) and found out it was from here. So thank you to the one who submitted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammadogood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windham, Maine, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This was really good! It reminded me of coffee cake. I couldn't get to my pie plate so I used an 8x8 baking dish and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States