Baked Aloha Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I thought recipe was easy to follow. I enjoyed it but my 6 children felt it was a little blan. When I make it again I will use one can crushed pineapple and one can of diced. I will also spice it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I too was surprised at how bland this turned out! I made it w/ listed the listed ingredients w/ exception of added sriracha hot sauce and brown sugar, omitting the oil all together (which was a good thing -- it wasn't needed). I then marinated it instead of baking right away. I only had a few hours, but it would be good to marinate overnight. I baked everything together in a covered deep dish baker for 1 hour... big chicken pieces. The sauce was very watery and the chicken sadly ugly and pale. I left in the oven uncovered for 15 more minutes to try to get some color... again, not long enough as I was afraid to dry out the meat. After letting it rest a few minutes, I peeled the skin off and cut the meat off the bone for my kids. Again, per someone else's review, I put the sauce in a pan and reduced it down... surprisingly still needed to add a pinch of salt. I added some leftover pineapple chunks which gave it back a bit of tanginess. Then I remembered I had some cilantro in the fridge and added it last to the sauce and pineapple. I added the sauce to the bite-sized meat and it salvaged an otherwise bland baked chicken recipe. Next time I think I'll try the marinade again for a longer period and then bake or grill w/o the pineapple marinade. I'll too it with a pineapple salsa with cilantro, fresh ginger and a little red onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMPERtheCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I was not pleased with how this recipe turned out. I cut the recipe in half and intended to use 5 leg quarters, but when I opened the package, they just didn't smell right. So I used 2 large chicken breasts, the only other chicken I had. While the chicken did have a pineapple flavor, the "sauce," if you can call it that, was grainy and not enough to even put over the chicken and rice. I even added more pineapple at the end, hoping that would help, but it didn't. I ended up making Sweet and Sour Sauce I to put over the chicken and rice. That is the only thing that salvaged this recipe. I would definitely make another pineapple chicken recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I tried this the other day. Played with chicken amounts but it was absolutely delicious!! Served it with brown rice. Just awesome! Hubby loved it (I think) more even than I did!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This was awesome!!!! I used chicken stock insteak of oil. and i cooked the chicken legs and thighs in the slow cooker on high for 2 hours. Also, I reduced some of the liquid from the slow cooker after it was done, to top the chicken with more of a glaze... SSo Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
My husband and I really liked this recipe. We used boneless chicken breasts. Very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
We love the flavor of this dish, but it never comes out "sticky" as I expect. I've even tried doubling the corn syrup and eliminating the juice from the pineapple, but there's still too much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was pretty good but I was hoping it would be a little more flavorful. Instead of corn syrup I used honey and added chili paste for that kick. Im not giving up on it yet I know it could be a good summer dish. Possibly even served cold after cooked but it needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
LOVED this. Added 1/2 large green pepper, 1 large sweet onion, 2 tbsp dark br sugar, 2 tsp fresh ginger, used dark syrup as suggested & 2 cloves of fresh garlic. Cooked as suggested, then increased oven time to 385 & cooked an addl 20-30 to brown the skin & reduce the liquid. No stove-top reduction reqd. Wonderful flavor. As is, I'd rate this a 3; w/ changes, a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
The reviews seemed so mixed on this that I was intrigued and thought I'd give it a try, especially since it looked similar to a sweet and sour chicken recipe that is a big hit with my husband. It wasn't terrible, but next time I will stick with the sweet and sour chicken. I omitted the corn oil, as it did not seem necessary (glad I did, I didn't miss it at all) and added @ 1/4 cup thai sweet chile sauce as another reviewer recommended. I can see why folks might want to add cornstarch to thicken it up a bit. I found that with the sauce as thin as it was, even though it tasted good over rice, the chicken itself was very bland. I did reduce the sauce in a frying pan after cooking the chicken, and that helped a bit. If I were to make this again, I'd probably marinate the drumsticks first so they would have more flavor. I don't think I will be making this again though. It just wasn't that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Tender Baked Chicken Thighs

See how to roast chicken until crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside.

Baked Apricot Chicken

Quick and easy baked chicken recipe with only four ingredients.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States