Baked Alaska Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
delicious best thing i have ever made do not use salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Personally, i would hit the meringue with a brulee torch instead of the broiler..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DreaLovesyouXO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Just browning the top on broil doesn't make it baked. As written, this is just a ho-hum ice cream pie topped with meringue. Graham cracker crumbs and vanilla ice cream, topped with almond-flavored meringue just didn't do it for us. A genuine Baked Alaska is made with cake as a base, not crumbs, and it's baked in the oven, not merely broiled (meaning heat source only applied to the top.) We didn't care for the meringue with its heavy almond flavoring. A more suitable meringue for this dish uses brown sugar for appealing color and full flavor, and a dash of vanilla. Although quicker and easier to put together, we felt it was a poor substitute for real Baked Alaska, and it only served to make us long for the real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Everyone loved it on New Years Eve! I am definately gonna try it with a brownie or cake bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkburnette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
The 1 tsp almond extract was far too much; the flavouring was overwhelming, and made it slightly sickening after the first few bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I make this with Digestive biscuits and I leave out the almond extract. Megabon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caoimhs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marseille, Provence-Alpes-Côte D'azur, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
My family loved this, especially my husband! I read the reviews and followed the advice of not using any salt. That worked well forus. I aslo use cane sugar so I had a hard time making the egg white topping as it should have come out. I added food coloring (light pink) for an Easter pastel color and the kids loved it. My husband has already started a list of combinations to try in the future -chocoalte ice cream with mint extract, or orange extract, etc. Thanks for a nice fun and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Hall Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
this recipe did not work at all. the frosting recipe is horrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This is a favorite and very quick to prepare. My only comment is 2 minutes for the meringue under the broiler can be too long ... you need to watch that carefully. The first time we made it, we just set a timer for 2 minutes and the meringue burnt ... we had to start all over. The 2nd time we kept an eye on it and took it out at about the minute point and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
this turned out pretty good, but we had to try the meringue part 3 times. a whole tsp of vanilla extract is too much, and makes the meringue fall flat/stops it from becoming stiff. a single drop is MORE than enoguh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Alaska

The perfect dessert—cake, ice cream, and baked meringue in one amazing treat!

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States