Baked Acorn Squash with Apricot Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This recipe was well received at our Thanksgiving dinner. I did make some changes for ease of serving a crowd. After I halving the squash and removing the seeds, I sliced each half into quarter inch slices using an electric knife (amazingly easy!). Then I arranged the slices in a single layer on parchment lined baking sheets and baked at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes. I removed them from the oven and brushed with the apricot preserve/butter mixture and slipped the baking sheet under the broiler for a couple of minutes, or until brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
Boy did I love this. Really easy and delicious. Used light apricot preserves and left out the butter -- didn't matter a bit. Still very sweet and delicious. I'll definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I have only ever had acorn squash with brown sugar and butter, and so had my husband. We were both pleasantly surprised by this! A very delicious, not overly sweet flavor at all. My new favorite way to serve acorn squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This is a great recipe! It takes a little longer to cook than given, and I leave out the salt, but I have made this twice and it is very good. My kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamala

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redwood Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Tasty, but had a difficult time getting the "meat" of the squash soft enough to scoop from the shell, so I baked it 15 minutes longer, let it set a bit, then cut each half into thirds. That made it much easier to handle, and made a better presentation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Carrot River, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Nice option for a seasonal squash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sberrystephcake

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Great! I used 2 tbsp of preserves, and could have done with even less -- maybe my squash wasn't very big. A nice change from S & P or maple syrup and butter. Thanks for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I used a sugar-free apricot perserve and sprinkled about a 1/8 tsp of Splenda brown sugar mix on each halve. I didn't have to cook it any additional time - mine was smaller than most squashes though - probably closer to three servings than four. My husband hates new vegetables and he will definately eat this one again and it has really added some flair to our diets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Registered on this website just to rate this recipe. Absolutely delicious. A new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I really liked how this wasn't too sweet like the usual brown sugar recipes for squash. It had a lovely hint of flavor that made the squash come alive. Note, I only give 5 stars for the rare recipe that is to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Pfeifle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States